Relish12.22, 12.23, 12.24, 12.25 & 12.26

28 Jan

Relish12 Day Twenty Two: Inspiration…

Whether we actively seek it out, trolling the streets or pages for it, or it finds us, entirely unprepared, soaking wet in the shower and without a darn thing to write on, we need inspiration to grace us. It’s what gives heart to our work, colour to our lives, and is the plaything of our soul. What, where, or whom inspired you this year? And better still, what did you do with it?

To find proper inspiration, I have to leave my house. I have to get out and spend time with the people in my life, sip a coffee and break the regularity of my home and work life. I am a stagnant creature of habit when I am at home: cooking, cleaning, procrastinating. When I face the world, I get shit done.

The people in my life inspire me the most. I am surrounded by such a rich array of spectacular folks. They have experienced incredible highs and lows, have learned so many lessons that they share enthusiastically. They have lived. They inspire me to live, to make the most of my life, and to do what it is I love to do.

 

Relish12 Day Twenty Three: Omission…

We all have them; moments we’d rather not remember, let alone have lived through in the first place. Though real life won’t let us, imagine you had the power, just for today, to edit your own history of this year. What would you choose to omit? What would you burn from the record? And what would you gain or lose by doing so?

On a level, I desperately want to go back in time and scratch out the catalyst to some of my brokenness. I want not to have that weight on my soul.

But. I wouldn’t  If given the opportunity, I would leave things the way they were and the way they are. Despite the bitterness and hurt, all of my breaking has brought me to a new plane. If I were to omit that pockmark, I may regain some ignorant bliss, but I would lose a lot of insight. I would lose ground. I strongly feel that you need to make a terrible mess before you can properly clean something up.

 

Relish12 Day Twenty Four: Sense Memory…

I don’t know about any of you, but 2012 was a doozy for me! When I woke up on January 1st of this year, I literally had no idea where I would find myself on December 31st. But here I am, in a new state, with a new job, a new dog, new friends, and lots and lots of new memories. While it was sad to leave so many friends and places behind in my last move, I never would have been able to get through it if I didn’t focus on the positive. Lately I’ve really been thinking about the senses and how they influence memory and our perceptions. When I think back about all of my favourite times in California earlier this year, they all have this golden, glowing hue about them.  For me, California will always be about the warm, glowing sun; how it looked as it glinted off the fields of the Central Valley, how warm my skin felt on countless mornings spent strolling around our neighbourhood. Our senses have such a powerful hold over how we re-experience our past. Catching hold of how things felt or smelled is an amazing way of re-capturing those same wonderful feelings!

For today’s prompt, think about one of your favourite days from this last year that you’d never want to forget. What physical feelings or sensations can you recall? Were there any scents that were present? What did it look like – were any colours more prominent than others? Any special sounds that you’d like to hold on to? Did you enjoy any special tastes that day? Spend some time exploring the little details of what you remember. After you’ve identified a couple of senses that stand out to you about that day, you can access how great that experience was at any time by conjuring up those associations.

I took a chance on an old relationship this year. I had a coffee date with a gentleman I had spent almost no one-on-one time with before. He is a very good, old friend of mephy’s and was a close acquaintance of mine.

The coffee date was spawned of a desire to distract from heartbreak and I had no idea how it was going to go. I am no stranger to epic coffee (or dinner, lunch, drinks and appies, coffee and dessert) dates and have been known to discuss life, love and philosophy for eight hours over a quiet restaurant table. But those dates were with people I had well-established relationships with. This date was with someone I knew just as well as I didn’t know.

As this prompt is about favourite memories, it’s not a surprise that the date went well. Surprisingly and wonderfully well. Of course we talked about the heartache, because it’s an unavoidable topic, even when you try to avoid it. But we also discovered many similar passions in literature and film. I can’t recall all of what was discussed, but from that (epic) coffee date came a couple of spin-off events and even a handful of writing dates.

I’m not huge on sense memory, but I won’t soon forget the smooth warmth of my latté, the cozy ambiance provided by the café’s gas fireplace, the bustle of our fellow coffee shop attendees, or the easy posture and smiles taken by me and my date for the evening.

 

Relish12 Day Twenty Five: Sweet Surprise…

Granted, this prompt might need to wait until today is over for its response, but thinking on this whole year what was the sweetest surprise you were treated to? Is there someone specific to blame, or was it the Universe at large that brought about this unforeseen delight? Tell us or show us.

On a literal level: I discovered the joy of a local cupcake baker, this year. Knowing that I was hosting a tea date after work one evening and feeling no motivation to bake for it, I visited our university campus’s farmer’s market and picked up a small collection of different cupcakes. In this selection, I met a salted caramel mocha delicacy. Wow. Just wow.

I’ve gone back for more. More than once. (Don’t judge me, you would too. In fact, you really should.)

Salted caramel cupcake

 

(Image @ Pink Lady Cupz & Cakes) 

Relish12 Day Twenty Six: Let yourself dream…

While plotting our lives and carrying on our routines it’s easy to lose track of when the last time was we let our minds run amok, let our imaginations run wild, and really let ourselves off the hook for wanting the things we want. Whether it’s a trip around the world, the man of your dreams, or a job that finally feels fulfilling to YOU: where did you let yourself dream this year? And if you realize now that you haven’t perhaps today is a good time to schedule it in. 

I have two friends I meet with for dinner every once in a while. While there is never a lull in conversation, one of these friends decided that these dates would be a great forum for Random Question Time.

Most noteworthy for me: if money, time and age were not restrictions, what would you do with your life? This is a wildest dreams situation.

When considering my answer to this question, I got to evaluate my life and the enjoyment I get out of it. As is common with most (hopefully all) people I know, my work life isn’t as fulfilling as my home life. Now it’s not that I want my enjoyment of work to supersede the joy I find in my personal life, but I do want to find something that’s more satisfying to me (than retail work). So – what would I do if I didn’t have roadblocks? I’d open a book store  Off and on, this has always been a dream of mine. Now more than ever. I love the atmosphere, promise and culture of an independent bookshop. I want to live in that world. After establishment, and the hiring of the perfect manager, I want to operate a book store and write simultaneously.

My favourite dream of the year was to own a book store. A quirky, independent book store, with attached culinary experience (of course). And I want to write. Preferably while in my book store.

AC/DC – Gone Shootin’

UNT.

3 Responses to “Relish12.22, 12.23, 12.24, 12.25 & 12.26”

  1. C January 28, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    You could totally give B&C a run for their money.

    • Kim January 29, 2013 at 4:58 am #

      Hah! Thanks C – maybe someday we’ll get to see. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relish12.27, 12.28, 12.29, 12.30 & 12.31! « Fox You (Very Much) - February 8, 2013

    […] cupcake I mentioned earlier, too. Chocolate cake with a mocha icing, caramel drizzle and a sprinkle of sea salt. I had always […]

Leave a Reply

