Relish12.12, 12.13, 12.14, 12.15 &12.16!

26 Jan

Okay! First of a few spam catch-up posts for the Relish series from Rebecca Murphy.

Relish12 Day Twelve: Morning ritual…

Just as each new day holds unforeseen promise, so too does the way we greet that new day reveal bits of truth about ourselves. When we greet the morning the same way, day upon day, that routine can evolve into something akin to a ritual; distinctive, private, personal. And year by year the way these rituals grow and change reflects similar shifts going on within us. So, did you have a morning ritual this year? What did it consist of? Whether it stayed the same or changed as the year went on, what meaning do you think it holds?

My regular morning routine is one of decompression and stress relief. I like to get up before the alarm rings at 0600h. The Pup and I usually go for a 20-30 minute walk after that (though, to be honest, I’ve really slowed on that recently. A few setbacks late last year have seen a lapse in my dog-walking responsibilities. I hope to see this all go back to normal soon – I need those morning excursions as much as the crazy hellhound does). When we get home, I feed her and then jump in the shower. After a shower I have breakfast, check The Internet for inevitable drama, and then lose some self-respect watching The Vampire Diaries on Netflix.

Every time I think about this morning routine, I feel a little guilty. The walk with Dogness is important, as are breakfast and a shower, but the time I spend with Netflix turned on could be spent differently. The time I spend online could also be spent differently. Productively. I feel that I need to work on a new morning routine that sees a walk, breakfast, a shower and then twenty to thirty minutes of writing (any writing). Netflix isn’t necessary and Facebook is an enormous waste of my time.

Projected routine:

6:00 – 6:30am: walk with Ayla
6:30 – 7:00am: dog breakfast, human shower, human breakfast
7:00 – 7:45am: write (with coffee, or tea)
7:45 – 8:15am: get all prettied up for work
8:15am: leave for work

Doesn’t look too difficult. I think I’ll give ‘er a whirl and maybe I’ll let you know how it goes.

Relish12 Day Thirteen: In your own skin…

In 2012, when did you feel the most yourself, the most in your skin, the most comfortable, the most YOU? Write about that experience and what it felt like, if you were with others or alone, and why or how you came to feel that comfort in exactly who you are. And if you have a photo from that day/experience, share it with your story.

To be honest, the only time I ever feel (almost) completely comfortable with who I am is when I am behind a keyboard. These are moments when nothing matters but the words circling ‘round my restless mind. The physical self I constantly struggle with doesn’t matter. My social ineptitudes don’t matter. What people think of me doesn’t matter. I’d like to say that the world disappears when I’m behind a computer screen or scrawling messily in a notebook, but it doesn’t. It can’t. The world is still there, it just becomes more forgiving and less complex. Theories and ideas mask judgements and social discord.

When I write, I am a superhero. I challenge the world and ask that it start to think a little differently. When I write, I am myself. I am not my body, my social status, or my relationship misunderstandings unless I become those things in order to evaluate and work through them.

You’d think I’d sit down and put pen to paper more often.

Relish12 Day Fourteen: Favourite view…

It could be out your office window, into your child’s eyes, or from a plane at 35,000 feet. What was your favourite view this year? Can you share a photo of it with us?

The dining room window, and sun deck (in the non-winter months) of my in-laws’ home. A spectacular mountain backdrop, a lush forest lining the perimeter of a mottled field and an immediate yard of lazily rolling hills, thick copses of trees and flocks of morning songbirds (and, in the summer, the most dense hummingbird population I have ever seen). It’s inspiring and relaxing. I love few things more than sitting out on the deck (in the summer) with a cup of coffee (or gin) and a good conversation.

Relish12 Day Fifteen: Words of wisdom

Perhaps it feels like they found you, or you were meant to discover them right when you did, but often over the course of a year we are treated to tidbits of inspiration, insight and encouragement. We find them in books, on twitter, under bottle caps, on fortune cookies and tea bags, on bumper stickers, or on lemonade bottles… What were the words of wisdom that came to aid and engage you this year? (Bonus points if you can share them visually with us.)

This above all: to thine own self be true.

ttosbt

Relish12 Day Sixteen: Broken…

Sometimes it’s a blessing, sometimes it’s gut wrenching and horrible. In time it will heal, and it’s likely we’ll be stronger for it. But in the meantime it can be wince inducing to think back on it. Do it anyway… What broke this year? How are you better for it having broken? And if you can’t see that part yet, what good would you LIKE to see come from it?

I did. This year, I broke.

Gaiman on Hell

(Image @ tumblr)

It is a blessing. It was gut-wrenching and horrible. I am healing.

This is going to come across in a broken record kind of way, but I learned a lot in falling to pieces. I learned how easy it is to give up and stop caring. I learned how important it is to communicate and not completely clam up. I learned that there are things in my life that are more worth saying goodbye to than fighting to maintain.

I am learning to take each day as it comes and to find the blessings therein. I am learning to make time for the important things in my life and not take time for granted. I am learning that I am important. I am learning to stop, breathe, and keep taking steps forward.

Matt Dusk – Back In Town

UNT.

4 Responses to “Relish12.12, 12.13, 12.14, 12.15 &12.16!”

  1. denielle January 27, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    That sounds like a great (projected) morning routine! I too spend a lot of time on the internet in the morning. Some of it’s work . . . and some of it would be a lot better spent with a good book!

    • Kim January 27, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you Denielle! 🙂 I have high hopes for it, but low expectations – I am all too familiar with my mad procrastination skills. 😉

      Thank you for posting! I hope everything’s awesome for you! Adele was telling me that you’d visited during the holidays and insisted you were doing really well – we talk about you reasonably frequently. ALL great things, of course. 🙂 Hope we see you in The Big City sometime soon. 🙂

  2. Jason January 27, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

    Maybe I’m going to have to stalk you in the mornings and give you crap for not writing, Kim. 🙂 But then, I don’t know if that would actually help or hinder. 😀

    • Kim January 28, 2013 at 7:50 am #

      Maybe not EVERY morning. 🙂 I’m out of town for just over a week pretty soon and it’ll be super busy. I’m going to TRY to write, but I make no guarantees. 🙂

      Thank you for the encouragement, though!

Leave a Reply

