Relish12.10 & Relish12.11

11 Dec

Relish12 Day Ten: Create Space

Carve some time out for yourself this week. Hire a sitter, enlist your spouse or family for help. Reach out. An hour or the whole afternoon, it’s your choice. When planning your time think about what your soul needs most. Is it comfort? Lock yourself in the bathroom for a bubble bath. Is it release? Take a drive to a quiet spot and scream at your steering wheel. Whatever it is you are most needing your highest self already knows, so take this time to do it. Afterwards, write about what creating that space meant for you. What emotions bubbled up? Where did your thoughts drift? Could you commit do doing this for you more often?

Stress. Sadness. Excitement.

See, the only real thing I need most, right now, is to be able to make time to be myself. When I’m finished a day of work and have completed putting together the evening’s dinner, all I want to do is decompress. I want to sit and completely gap out. This, my friends, is a choice. I consciously make the choice to watch The Vampire Diaries rather than write. I need to stop doing that. I need to take an hour, just one small hour, and unplug (so to speak – I write better when I’m at my keyboard). I need to take an hour to create.

I also need to get out of my house, by myself, more frequently. I get caught up, on weekends and other off-time, doing chores and ignoring my soul’s request to be soothed. I need to start my weekends at the gym (I do that now), working the week’s stress out of my system, and then move to a coffee shop with the laptop, tablet, notebook and pen or even a novel, and just sip a latté and breathe. The laundry can wait. Mopping the floors is not necessary. Cookies can be baked at ten o’clock in the evening if they have to be baked at all.

I can commit to doing this more often. I think this next year is going to be an interesting one. Okay, I know it is going to be an interesting one, but for a multitude of reasons.

Relish12 Day Eleven: The call of Nature…

True, for some it may only come as a whisper, but for many the call to be out in nature is nearly impossible to ignore. We are a part of it, as much as it is a part of us, and honouring that desire to commune with the land and its creatures is also honouring all that is still very much wild and untamed within ourselves. When did you answer the call of nature this year? Where did you go and how did you spend your time connecting?

I am so sad, so sorry and so ashamed to admit that Nature and I did not have many dates this year.

mephy and I had a lovely walk in his backwoods in the summer, but that was about the extent of it. I didn’t hike, I didn’t kayak, I didn’t even get out camping. I did take myself on a handful of inline skating dates (in a local park) that were mighty therapeutic.

My best “connect with Nature” time was spent in my backyard. I’m not a gardener by nature and hope never to be, but I sincerely enjoyed weeding in the sunshine. Almost as much as visiting with family after summer evening dinners, sometimes around the patio table and sometimes around the fire pit.

I think I will make more of an effort next year. I will kayak, I will hike and I will camp. I will walk off the beaten path. I will find my inner hippie and we will frolic  commune and come to a deeper understanding of our Self.

Seether – Careless Whisper

UNT.

6 Responses to “Relish12.10 & Relish12.11”

  1. Daniel Gallant December 11, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Good Reminder!
    Self care is essential…and easily forgotten.

    • Kim December 12, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      So true. It’s so easy to get caught up in everything else. The so-called “important things.” 🙂 We definitely need to remember to take time out for ourselves.

      Thanks for reading, and commenting, Daniel! I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. karen December 12, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    Hello Kim,
    This is a lovely, honest blog, when I read it I hear you speaking. I like this Relish project. Do you think it is changing you? It feels transformative, somehow.

    • Kim December 12, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      Thank you, Karen! 🙂 I really appreciate that.

      Transformative. Heh. I dig that. 🙂 I think it is changing me, yes. Not to great lengths, but I am certainly learning more than I thought I would through what I thought would be a “simple” series of blog prompts. It’s been a fun journey, so far. 🙂

      Thank you so much for stopping by to read! 🙂

  3. justnot4me December 12, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    I agree, we all need to take an hour to ourselves, I usually have it in the morning so that I can start my day off positively and relaxed:)

    • Kim December 12, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      I prefer the morning for me-time, too. I don’t have tonnes of it Monday through Friday, so I try for a bit in the evenings. Weekend mornings are free game though, I need to start remembering that. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

