Relish12.9

9 Dec

Relish12 Day Nine: New Beginnings…

The only constant in this life is change. That’s it. Change can come in all forms; some brilliant, some downright painful. We grow each and every time we navigate change, exposing more strength, wisdom, and courage the deeper we let it do it’s work within us. Some change comes as an ending, some as a fresh start to something totally different. What was one new thing that started for you this year? What was one new beginning in your life?

This was a year of positivity.

I had a bit of a rough go of the end of last year and I wanted to try to move forward. So, I sincerely flattered a friend and imitated her.

I started a gratitude journal. Every night before bed, usually in the tub, I reflect on my day and I choose at least five things a day that I am thankful for. It’s not always easy, sometimes I’m frustrated or just having a bad day, but I always do it.

This began as a New Year’s Resolution. Not something I was too familiar with, not getting caught up in the “I’m going to join a gym” or “I’m going to read one hundred pieces of classic literature this year.” I wanted to start something and see it through – so far, so good.

While I didn’t expect the bad days to disappear (and they haven’t), I knew that there was a silver lining in each one of them (there is. There always is). It’s the silver lining I’m after. A well-made latté, husband hugs after a long day, conversations about character creation and world building, the way my nephew sounds like a dolphin when he laughs and how his sister is picking that habit up, or the way the world looks when it’s being covered in a blanket of big ol’ fluffy snowflakes. Big things, little things . . . everything.

This new beginning opened a door of insight. I haven’t always liked what I’ve seen (of myself and others), but I’ve seen a lot and those things have always been well worth observing. The gratitude journal has made me a different person, and I can dig that.

Matthew Good Band – Alabama Motel Room

UNT

2 Responses to “Relish12.9”

  1. Strange Tripster December 9, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Ah,The list! Gratitude lists have put my life into perspective on many an occasion. As hard as it can be to do, I always find that whatever resentment I may be harbouring will, if not disappear, occupy less space in my melon. I am finding your “twelve” very interesting indeed.

    • Kim December 9, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Yes. It’s the dealing with resentments aspect I find most rewarding. Some things just eat away at you and it’s so easy to let them. It’s nice when you can work through that. Perhaps not completely, but, as you say, a little less. 🙂

      Interesting. Excellent. 🙂 I’m glad – thank you, so much, for reading. 🙂 I really appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

