Relish12.6 Light Bulb Moments…

6 Dec

Relish12.6: Light bulb moments…

Insight and inspiration know no schedule and worry not about convenience. We consider ourselves lucky when they strike us at all, ill-timing aside. What light bulb moments did you have this year?

I do not want to work, full-time, for someone else for the rest of my life.

I have two dream end games:

1) I work part-time for someone else (preferably maintaining health benefits and a pension) and spend the rest of my time freelancing and dabbling in long-narrative* writing.

2) I own a bookstore.

What it comes down to is that I can’t work a limited-creativity job for the rest of my life. I can’t. It’s killing me.

With great discovery comes great responsibility. Now that I know this, I need to change it. I need to change it.

So I am. I’m practising writing every day. I’m allowing ideas, no matter how silly they seem, to be explored “on paper.” I’m researching my way through the world of the freelance writer. I even have a first-reader, someone I’ve been sending my silly ideas to, who’s giving me awesome, honest feedback (which I am very excited to address in re-writes).

These are shuffling baby steps, but they’re making me a bit happier. Day by day.

My “light bulb moment” is that I do not want to work, full-time, for someone else for the rest of my life. I want to work, at least part-time, for myself. It’s a moment of inspiration that adds as much pressure as it relieves. On one hand I have the excitement of passionate discovery and planning. On the other hand, I still have a mortgage to pay. Now I get to figure out how to balance my make believe world with reality. I get to figure out how to make unicorns comfortable behind a white picket fence.

Arkells – On Paper (Accoustic)

UNT.

*Novels. I want to write novels. I just don’t like calling them novels, it seems pretentious when all I have are a few random paragraphs slapped together from bizarre, stray thoughts.

One Response to “Relish12.6 Light Bulb Moments…”

  1. melissa December 9, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    My favorite part of this, other than all of it, is the fact that you linked to a song by The Arkells. I know SO FEW people who are a fan of these guys other than me. Such a good song you chose, too!!

Leave a Reply

