Relish. Everything.

4 Dec

Hi guys,

Long time no chat.

I’m sure we’ll talk about that, but right now I’m not interested – I have no good reason for being quiet, just too little time on my hands recently. I needed what (time) I had for non-blog-y things. I’m sure you understand.

Okay. So long-winded bullshit (you’ve all read a thousand times before) short: I need to write. I need to write daily. I’m not really a theme kind of gal, but I recently stumbled upon Rebecca Murphy‘s Relish12 project and I want to try it. I have some days to catch up, so bear with me for a bit until I get this all sorted.

All right – let’s get going.

Relish12 Day One: Your Mountain

We all face challenges during the year; some we meet, some we don’t. What was your mountain to climb this year? Did you reach the top?

My biggest stumbling block this year has been personal understanding and happiness. I have struggled with this, more than I have words to describe. Some days are better than others, some days make me want to stay curled up under my blankets and never, ever get out of bed again.

On the bright side? It’s getting easier to breathe. Things are getting better. I’ve had conversations with the right people and have more people lined up for more conversations and more work. It’s a process.

My mountain is self-acceptance and I have not reached the top. I’m still at the foothill stage of this climb, but I’m moving upward. One day at a time, one lesson at a time. Things are coming together and I know that I have one of the most amazing, encouraging support systems in the world. If I can keep moving, I’ll get to the top.

(Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to keep nudging me to continue. It’s so easy to stop and sit down, but the rest isn’t what I need. The agony of the journey and the reward that is seeing life from the top of this mountain is.)

Relish 12 Day Two: Sweet Treat…

Life is littered with sweetness, of all kinds. What was the sweetest treat you enjoyed this year?

Anyone who really knows me knows that sweets are not the way to my heart. I’m a savoury (read: cheese) girl, through and through. However! It makes my heart sing when the weather turns and the leaves change.

You can guess, I know you can.

Beyond the astounding, inspiring beauty of autumn is the Pumpkin Spice Latté. Oh yes, that wonderful, aromatic, perfect, smooth, amazing treat. That first PSL order of the year tickles me. It’s one part favourite season, one part amazing drink and one part wonderful memories of coffee dates long passed. It’s kind of neat how so many experiences and feelings can be wrapped up in one single, little drink.

Relish12 Day Three: Let Go…

What did you let go of this year? This could be a specific belief, or a relationship, or something else in your life.

Relationships. I (started to) let go of relationships, this year.

See, I completely (rationally) understand that people grow apart. I accept it and celebrate the idea of learning from every experience I have.

But.

I have a problem with “losing” friends. It makes me feel as though I haven’t tried hard enough or that I’ve done something terribly wrong. Truth is? Sometimes friendships just run their course – and that’s okay.

In climbing my mountain, I am working on letting go of relationships that are toxic to me. One-sided endeavours from which I garner nothing but heartache. This is not okay. It’s not healthy, and it’s just not the way life is supposed to be lived. It also doesn’t make the other side of this relationship a bad person any more than I am a bad person. We just aren’t a successful pair. Our interests, needs, wants and experiences just don’t jive. And that’s okay.

I am working on letting go of relationships that do not see me thrive. It’s a great, great thing. A bit painful, but the lesson is pretty exquisite.

Respect yourself(Image @ Women’s Rights News on Facebook)

While I understand that Day Four is actually today, I am going to leave you here. Day four is a great prompt and I want to take some time to properly consider my answer.

Thanks for hanging out, folks – I hope everything is coming up lollipops and unicorns for you all.

The Piano Guys – Carol of the Bells

(You need to listen to this. It’s freaking beautiful. Amazing. Wonderful.)

UNT.

6 Responses to “Relish. Everything.”

  1. Jason December 5, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    You’re an inspiration, Vyx. And I’m pleased to count you among my friends.

    • Kim December 5, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      Awh. Thank you, so much, hon. 🙂 Right back atch!

      xoxo

  2. Strange Tripster December 5, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    That’s some hard work, introspection. Takes a goodly amount of courage.

    • Kim December 5, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      Heh – well…let’s hope it all works out. 😉

      Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  3. melissa December 5, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    This is such a cool project, and kudos on the honest answers 🙂

    Also? PSL is by far my favorite time of the year. Screw Christmas, First pumpkin spice in Fall ALL THE WAY (kidding, I love Christmas, but seriously.)

    • Kim December 5, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      HAH! Yes. A thousand times.

      PSL is better, by far, than any holiday drink specials. Yes. (And yes, I LOVE Christmas. So, so much.)

      Thank you, so much, for visiting chickie! I always love it when you stop by. 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

