Fall Goals!

27 Sep

I am a dirty, rotten thief.

This post topic idea comes to you from the wonderful and amazing Melissa at Press Play.  I adore Melissa, guys.  Her posts are upbeat, well written and totally mad awesome.  So is she – the girl gets to meet rockstars and authors, for heaven’s sake!  She’s my hero – and I get to buy her a coffee the next time she’s in BC, or when I get out to that Jets v. Canadiens game (which will clearly not be this season – /Grrz)!  (Apparently I’m not a creepy stalker.  Mmmhmm.)

ANYWAY.

She wrote a post about her fall goals that I fell head over heels for.  So, I thought I’d give ‘er a whirl.  Here you go cats, my goals this season (keep me honest, people):

*Be more active!

While it’s true that Ayla and I walk every morning, that’s just not enough.  I need to get more physical activity in.  I need to in-line skate more while the weather still permits it, and then I need to buy the pair of ice skates I was chatting about this very afternoon (nephew-bug is going to learn how to skate this year, I can’t miss that – and it’s a great excuse to get on the ice with the family) and get out on them!  And hiking!  I have not properly hiked in yearsandyears and that needs to change.  I love to hike and explore.  Will have to get in a handful of good adventures before the snow flies!

*Write more.

Hey dead horse!  Lay still, I want to beat you some more!

True and still true.  But I’ve been doing better!  I have a reasonable blog track record these last few months and no less than three creative projects in the works.  (I also have two Super Top-Secret projects in start-up mode that I hope to debut soon.)

*Date.

My husband, guys.  I need to date my husband.  I love him and his company is awesome, but we spend so much time at home!  This is great, we love home, but it’s fun to get in a nice Autumn walk (with pumpkin spice lattés), or a let’s-get-gussied-up dinner at our favourite restaurant, or (my personal favourite right now) a night out of town for dinner and then hotel fun.

*I, too, need to learn the art of a good to-do list!

I love to cross things off of my grocery list, what makes a to-do list any different!  Blog posts, chapters, short stories, picture cropping, lasagne making, cookie experimentation, three skates per week . . . all great things to prioritize and then strike from a well constructed list.  (I have a new day-planner for 2013 that I’m super stoked to use and hope that I will use.  With lists!)

*Take “Artist Dates.”

Cameron’s The Artist’s Way stresses this event big time.  You gotta, folks.  Even if you’re not looking to get something creative accomplished, you have to sort some time for yourself.  For me it’ll be a super awesome date with a latté, my laptop/Playbook/notebook and The Black Keys (because for some reason they are amazing to write to).

*Eat less crap.

I did wonderfully at this when I gave up junk food for sixty days.  It was awesome.  However, I am a whore for junk food (the savoury kind – anything fake cheesy makes my freaking day) and find myself binging more than I ought.  It has to stop.

There it is!  My fall in a nutshell.

How about you?  Do you have a list of goals for the next few months?  I’ve love to read them!

Fleetwood Mac – Little Lies

UNT.

5 Responses to “Fall Goals!”

  1. melissa September 27, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    YAY for blog inspiration! I’m so happy you made a list too. I promise to do my best to keep you to your goals 😉

    PS I feel like you made me sound way more awesome than I actually am (ha!) but you totally made my day for it 😛

    • Kim September 27, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Pfft – my vocabulary can’t do your awesome justice, lady! 🙂

      GOOD! I need all the motivation I can get. 😀 Thank you!

  2. thedapperlass September 28, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    This is so awesome! I recently made a post about my fall bucket list (I was also inspired by another blogger). These sound like some great goals!

    • Kim September 28, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Thank you, lass! 😀

      I took a peek at your blog too, LOVE it! 🙂 Great, great list of your own. 🙂

  3. kaysfairytale October 3, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    What a great post! Lists will change your life, trust me. I actually mounted a three foot wide white board on one wall of my room and I write all my lists on it as they come to me. And the crossing out part is the best!

Leave a Reply

