12 Questions from Kendra at like a bird…

18 Sep

Okay.  At this point, it should not come as any surprise that one of my most important sources of inspiration is Kendra from like a bird….  I’ve known her for a number of years now (though sadly I have yet to actually sit across from her and chat over coffee); we’ve chatted, we’ve exchanged letters, and she’s let me write for her on a few occasions.  I adore Kendra.  I don’t take the opportunity to say that as often as I should, but I do.  I have been privy to so much of the creative, and personal, evolution she’s shared with our little blogosphere and it’s been wonderful.  If nothing else, Kendra is honest.  If she’s having a bad day, she’ll tell you.  If she’s having a great day, she’ll tell you.  I appreciate that.  A lot.

One of the recent features on like a bird… is called 12 Questions wherein (bi-weekly) Kendra will “post a deep, soulful question that [she hopes] will encourage introspective, reflection and new understanding of self.”  You are invited to participate.  I am (this week).

This week’s question:

What is your perfect dream life?
Be as outlandish, fantastical and dream as hard as you can. Think of all the things you would love to do, experience and how you want to live. Let your mind be free to wander.

I want…

to adopt another rat.
to take a solo “creative retreat.”  I really need to re-charge my batteries.
to see the world.
to move to Halifax (or, at the very least, spend a few months there).
to write a book.
to quit my (full-time) job and freelance write.  (While rocking part-time work.)
to contribute to Inked and The Writer.
to tell you the answer to the question “if money (and age) were taken off of the table, what would you do with your life?”  (And I will, but later.)
to join roller derby.
to rock a sleeve tattoo.
to be comfortable in my own skin (again).
to spend my summers camping, hiking, kayaking and exploring.
to meet a fox.
to make my Nan proud.
to come to terms with my anxiety.  To understand where it comes from and to deal with it properly.
to help.
to try vegetarianism.
to experience adventure.
to understand what I need to do in order to see these dreams become a reality.
to push myself to my limits and then beyond them.
to try.

This has been an interesting year so far, folks.  Interesting good, interesting bad…vastly and overwhelmingly interesting.  I hadn’t expected my journey to my Self to engage me so violently.  I suppose that’s what happens when you wait so long to figure your shit out; once you start, things crumble and reality hits you like a tonne of bricks.

It’s a good thing.

Thank you K.  You make me smile and, best of all, you make me think.  You are an inspiration to me.

Mr. Mister – Broken Wings

UNT.

Leave a Reply

