A survey and a writerly meme!

3 Aug

A Survey!  (Originally seen here: Getting To Know You Day on Authentic Experience.)

1. How long have you been blogging?
Four years. Ish.

2. Did you go to college?

  (Image @ Zelda Lily: Feminism in a Bra)

Why yes, yes I did.

3. Where have you traveled?
I have trekked over quite a bit of our fair Canada, have seen a wee bit of the USofA and have visited Germany and Austria.

4. If you won the lottery, what would be the first thing you would buy?
My house.

5. What are your three biggest pet peeves?
a) Tailgaters.

b) People who leave their blinkers on LONG after their turn and/or lane-change has been made.

c) Not being the centre of everyone’s universe.  It’s just wrong, guys.

6. What is your favourite movie?
Hackers.

7. What is your drink of choice; wine, beer, or liquor. Or Water, Soda, Tea?
Strange list.

I like water.  For more fun, I’m all about the DP. (Dr. Pepper, that is.)

8. What is something you enjoy to do when you have me time?
Write.

9. If you could have a $10,000 shopping spree to one store, which store would it be?
I’d love to say Books & Co., but I think Home Depot and Ikea are wiser choices. (If I have to spend it in a store and not refer to Question 4.)

10. Share with us an embarrassing moment of your past?
I was once ashamed to admit that I dig (It’s) Britney (Bitch) Spears.

11. What day would you love to relive again?
June 29, 2002.

12. If your life was turned into a movie… what actor would play you?
Anne Hathaway. Because this is the only way I will ever walk with any semblance of poise, or speak with a hint of eloquence.

13. What are the jobs you had in high school/college/the early years?
In high school I rocked an art gallery front desk (and gift shop) and college (university) saw me building pizzas or making salads, depending on which city I was in at the time.

14. Show us a picture from high school or college.
Okay. OLD uni picture, from the Residence Semi-Formal I attended in my second year.

15. If you could travel anywhere in the world, all expenses paid, where would you go?
The answer to this question depends on the day it’s asked. Today? Nova Scotia.

16. Show us the most current picture of you or you, or your family, or anything of meaning to you.
Okay.  Me and Nephew-Bug (on July 27, 2012)!

17. Where do you see your life 5 years from now?
I’m hoping to see it in a happy and healthy bosom of personal success. (Here’s a hint: YFN vyxen’s idea of personal success has very little, if anything, to do with financial gain.)

~*~

A Writerly Meme!

<Measurement of Time> 03 → How do you come up with character names? 

I used to use http://www.babynamenetwork.com/.  I tended to choose an origin based on the traits I had envisioned before naming a character and then I would start with a favourite letter and sift through the silt.

Now I use 55, 000+ Baby Names.  Because I picked it up for $4.99 and books are more fun than the internet (and it’s super fun to randomly sift through a baby name book in front of mephy).

Five Finger Death Punch – Bad Company

UNT.

4 Responses to “A survey and a writerly meme!”

  1. C August 3, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Hah! You can also leave the baby name book out when you have company and see how many people comment.

    Plus? Nice shout out to the semi-formal!

    • Kim August 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Hah! True story and good idea.

      Thanks C – it was one of my favourite shindigs of our uni career!

  2. lissa August 4, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    for #9 — I would have to choose Ikea or something for home, somehow having real furniture means you’re home.

    for the write meme, I pick names base on meanings and how they sound. I also like the idea of having a character trait first, it’s easier, I think but you can always change it later

    hope you have a great day.

    • Kim August 4, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

      It’s true. Plus? Working on your home, sprucing something up, or picking out a new swanky piece of furniture just makes it more yours. You’re right. It’s more like Home. 🙂 Absolutely.

      You’re also 100% correct on the changing it later. I hate to do that as a general rule (I sometimes feel like naming a character is as sacred as naming a child, or pet), but I have – sometimes the character just changes too much from one draft to another and their original name just isn’t right anymore.

      Thanks for stopping by, lissa! 🙂 Hope your weekend is going fabulously!

Leave a Reply

