Merry Christmas in July!

25 Jul

So!  A while back, when I was creeping on some of the amazing folks of BBN and their outstanding blogs I stumbled cross the wonderful Alyx of Every Day is a New Adventure.  Now let’s just nevermind that her blog is full of all kinds of awesome for now, I happened to start visiting it at exactly the right time – that is, my introduction to The Awesome that is Alyx happened as she announced one heckuva cool event: Christmas in July!

The gist of the sitch: we all love to receive gifts and we all love mail that is not bills, so why not sign our lovely selves up for a long-distance gift exchange with our fellow bloggers?  So!  If you were so inclined, Alyx and her co-conspirators invited you to join the fun with a sign up sheet that included some personal interest questions they would use (the answers to) to best match you with another fab blogger.

Naturally, being a fan of sending mail, I had to sign up!  Of course, my foray was not without its bugs to work out.  Turns out that no one in Canada wanted to be blog friends with me (story of my life), so I was asked if I would like to pair up internationally.  Absolutely I did – and was subsequently placed with the outstanding Julie of Little Gosh from Brazil!

Alas, because I was paired with someone out-of-country my package has not yet arrived to her.  And, because I’m reasonably certain Canada Post doesn’t enjoy to send mail internationally*, I am unable to provide tracking information for her parcel.  Julie – my fingers are crossed that it turns up yesterday-ish for you.

I did, however, receive MY nifty gifty!

SEE!

How cool, right!?

Okay, so check it out.  We have:

1. A book! Not just any book either, this is a book Julie herself has read (the very book she read) that touched her in such a way that she felt the need to share it.  I’m pretty excited to read this one – I’ll let you know how it is!

2. That’s right, it’s a Brazillian soccer fox!  LOVE.  Love.  I am so psyched to be able to add this little guy to my (fox) collection.

3. A fabulous little (recycled) paper flower, which was purchased locally from an organization that helps families in need.

4. A skookum little Christmas box, and a lovely card with a super note to me!

Love this event!  Love.  Thank you, so much, for letting me be a part of it.  And thank you, Julie, for the amazing, thoughtful gifts!  You rock, lady!

Billy Talent – Red Flag

UNT.

*Because they charge an arm and a leg to send mail and if you DO want tracking information and/or insurance on your parcel they will also ask for six toes and your liver.

Dear Canada Post,

I bite my thumb at you.

Yours,

v.

4 Responses to “Merry Christmas in July!”

  1. Julie July 26, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    I’m glad you liked the stuff, and I got your box today! Lots of love!

    • Kim July 29, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Thanks again Julie – it was fun to “meet” you this way!

  2. Shannon @ Polish and Sugar July 29, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    I have the same feelings about Canada Post! Why is it soooo expensive to add tracking to an international package? I never get it either, and take my chances! Sounds like it was a fun gift exchange 🙂

    • Kim July 29, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      I play postal roulette, too – and always feel bad for the person on the other end who may, or may not get their parcel.

      Thanks for the comment Shannon! 🙂 It was a fun exchange – doing this Internationally was pretty awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

