In which YFN vyxen answers seven questions and begins a series.

24 Jun

First!

Some questions:

(The questions came from here!  You should answer them too, they’re fun.)

1. What do you do when you’re sick? (Do you act like a baby? Tough it out? Have any weird cravings? Cry?)
I tough it out. I live with a man, and so tease Mr. Man about how wimpy men are when they’re sick. I’d feel like a douche if I wasn’t She-Ra when sick. (Fuck you, Horde – Ima wreck you.)

2. What do you do to find motivation when you feel you’ve lost it?
In the case of RFN I make myself work. I’m a little sad and the last thing I want to do is sit down and write. (I’d really like to curl up and bask in the glory of Netflix.)

3. Do you wish time away or do you savour every moment?
I wish it away. There’s so much I want to do and I’d really just like to do it now, not savour The Now and wait. (I do wish – see what I did there? – I could savour every moment and I have tried, it’s just not working out so well for me.)

4. If you could be any mythological creature, what would you be, and why?
Chupacabra. ‘Cause that BAMF is a mythological Latin American Honey Badger.

5. What is your current biggest weakness and are you working on fixing it?
I have wavering self-esteem. It’s funny because today I was almost confident about a few things, but that’s just been shattered (it’s temporary – I’ll get over immediate disappointment). At any rate, my lack of self-confidence is debilitating.

As for fixing it? Yes, I’m working on it. I’m trying to be less “meh” about my talents. They’re real and they’re strong, I need to recognize that and hone in. I’m trying. Really hard. (It’s even been working.  Off and on.)

6. How do you greet someone when meeting them for the first time?
With a chipper “hello” and a hearty handshake.

7. How do you grocery shop? (Do you write up a list? Go in with no idea what you’re looking for? Have meal plans? Bring your own shopping bags?)
(I LOVE to grocery shop!)

I meal plan, so I like to pick dishes and then I build my grocery list around that, while taking into account work lunches for me and mephy and general household odds and ends (like Reese PB ice cream. A necessity in any household) – and yes, I bring my own shopping bags. I’m a little sad that $100+ can fit into only four (canvas) bags, but it sure saves on trips up and down the stairs when I bring it all home.

AND THEN!

(Yes.  And then.)

So I was wandering the vastness of The Online (a dangerous pastime, I know) on a quest for another survey-type-thing to fill out for you.  But this brilliant 30 Day Writing Challenge distracted me.  I feel this is a fantastic series to take part in, so I will!  (This will absolutely not be a 30 Days INAROW Writing Challenge though.  I am not a daily blogger.  I MAY be able to do 30 WEEKSINAROW, but we’ll see!  What I can promise is that I will complete each section of this challenge!)

(You should consider taking part as well, I want to read what you have to say about these things!)

Day 01 → Your favourite writ­ing project/universe that you’ve worked with. 

Honestly?  My absolute favourite environment to write in was for a play-by-post role playing game called Forest of the Moon (FotM).  Inspiration for that game was taken from Neil Gaiman’s Stardust (not coincidentally, my introduction to our beloved Gaiman), so it will surprise (some of) you very little to learn that the story took place in Faerie.

It’s actually because of FotM (and Stardust) that I’ve become so smitten with Fae mythos.  This is the only occasion that I’ve taken to writing faeries – I’m usually strictly only a reader of fantasy – and it’s been so much fun.  The plotlines are endless, the themes from which to draw are innocent and naïve on the surface and dark and foreboding only one layer beneath, and there’s just so much wit and whimsy involved.  It feeds my soul.

Alas, because I am usually strictly only a read of fantasy, this has been my only foray into Faerie.  Perhaps my deceitful little Fae will make a strong comeback in my personal writing – there are avenues I’d love to explore in her backstory – but am thrilled to always have theForestof the Moon.

In terms of personal writing?  In the last year I’ve begun to play with a pair of characters who dabble on opposite ends of the same spectrum.  They, and their little universe, have become my favourites in my offline writing.

I feel like this subject can’t be concluded without a respectful shout-out to an old favourite.  There was a time, eons ago now, when I did tinker with the worlds of fantasy.  I created a character that I still hold dear.  I can’t write her worth a shit (mephy actually does an amazing job of writing her and has incorporated her into a storyline of his own), but she will always be on a high pedestal in my creative world.  (I love her.  I want to be her.)

Queen – Another One Bites the Dust

UNT.

2 Responses to “In which YFN vyxen answers seven questions and begins a series.”

  1. Gentri June 24, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    I need to take grocery shopping tips from you!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are we okay? « Fox You (Very Much) - July 15, 2012

    […] I will even let you know what they are so you can hold me accountable: I have another entry in my 30 Days Weeks Months of Writing challenge and a report on why taking a Facebook hiatus was one of the best things I will do this […]

Leave a Reply

