Review: Good Work(s) Bracelets

23 Jun

I recently made a fantastic discovery!

I was visiting a local (indie) shop that I adore, trying to find a thank-you gift for a friend.  I was failing pretty miserably, despite the local (indie) shop’s outstanding stock – nothing seemed right, y’know?  Well.  Nothing seemed right until I stumbled across the shop’s selection of Good Work(s) bracelets.

(Image @ Good Work(s))

Okay!  See what I’m talking about!?  How funky are these bracelets?

Very funky!  You can buy them in very nearly any colour your wonderful little heart desires, you can have them shiny and metallic, matte and classy, sprinkled with rhinestones, or chunky and hip.  What your heart desires, your heart can have.

Now here’s the actual selling point: Good Work(s) donates 25% of the sale of each piece of phenomenal jewellery to charity!  So not only do you get to rock this amazing bling, you’re doing some serious good while you’re at it.

Good Work(s)’s mission for 2012 is to “completely move in 20 homeless families to completely furnish homes in our, ‘Home Sweeter Home for the Homeless,’ campaign.”  Not too shabby!  Along with that, the company has: co-sponsored the Children’s Dream Awards, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments of children who made a difference in the world, joined Peace Wind Japan and Peace Wind America in order to help raise funds to aid the people of Japan during the devastation of the 2011 tsunami, helped the Good Shephard Shelter to educate and support domestically abused women and children (this was actually the charity the clerk at my local shop advised me of.  The prospect of thanking a friend while supporting this cause was the kick I needed to excitedly carry my first Good Work(s) bracelet up to the counter), and in May of 2011 Good Work(s) made prom possible for eighteen beautiful young women who would otherwise not have been able to experience being a princess for a night.  These events merely scratch the surface on the good that Good Work(s) has done so far.

Good Work(s) bracelets are my new favourite accessories.  I own one (and wear it every day.  Every.  Day.  I am, in fact, wearing it right now) and have picked a few others up as gifts.  I love them!  I love the inspiring words and phrases debossed on the bracelet, I love the colour selection, I love the way wearing my bracelet makes me feel like a total rockstar and I simply adore that my bracelet makes a difference.

But you don’t have to take my word for it. . . .

(Images @ Good Work(s))

I am not affiliated with Good Work(s) in any way.  I’m just a fan who thinks you should be one, too!

Nickelback – Rockstar

UNT.

(Image @ your friendly neighbourhood vyxen. Rock ‘n’ roll!)

4 Responses to “Review: Good Work(s) Bracelets”

  1. pixiefae June 24, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    I would probably love them, but I clicked on the ‘inspiration’ link and unfortunately they are all from the Bible. Amazing how one little thing can put me off entirely 😦 Nice that they donate to charity though.

    • Kim June 24, 2012 at 7:14 am #

      Fair enough. There are quite a number of them that are stamped with encouragement that has nothing to do with The Bible, though. But I can respect a complete stand against a company if you don’t follow their value system.

  2. C June 24, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Which store? 🙂

    • Kim June 24, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      Shhh…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

