YFN vyxen On Writing

19 Jun

(Image @ Bill Watterson)

mephy and I had a pretty cool conversation the other evening.

I had, you see, sent a piece of writing to Friend last weekend.  While I was bemoaning Friend’s busy schedule and consequential lack of free time with which to edit silly stories, mephy looked at me blankly.  “You know, that story?”  I rolled my eyes.  He maintained blankness.  Apparently I had not shared that one with Mr. mephistopheles.  (My bad.)  Naturally I remedied that and sent him all of the wine writing that related to that piece (there is the initial, the second, and the subsequent two re-writes of the second).

(I don’t go overboard at all.)

Here’s where The Fun came in.

I asked mephy what he thought.  Not ever one for straight answers, he started listing the things that should stay and the things that should perhaps not stay.  I asked him to tell me if he liked it or not and he shot me a look.  mephy is smart and respects me, my passion, and our relationship enough to not sugar-coat things.  He gets to the meat of the situation.  It’s why I share things with him.  (It’s also why I sometimes do not share things with him.)

The gist of it?  mephy believes that I blog better than I write (creative fiction).  He’s actually not wrong.  Not only does blogging come more easily to me (most of the time), it reads better.  My fiction just doesn’t have the same finesse.  (Guys, I’m not saying I’m a BAMF when it comes to The Blogging, it just really does read a helluva lot better than my creative work does.  …more’s the pity.)

Now!  This revelation will not make me give up my dream of creative fiction writing.  It will, however, make me take The Blogging more seriously.  Blogging, for me, is fun.  It’s just whimsical bullshit that I get to do.  The writing writing is something different.  I get all seriousface about that.  (I suspect this is probably where the problem lies.)  Blogging is also what I do most often.  I’ve been away from the writing writing for a long time, out of sheer intimidation.

I am out of practise.

That is the part that makes me excited.  Being able to harness my blogging voice and throw it into creative fiction writing!?  THAT is badass.  I mean not only do I get to keep practising the writing writing, but I get to be not-half-bad at one kind of writing and incorporate that into what I want to do (when I grow up).

Cool beans!

PotUSA – Kitty

UNT.

6 Responses to “YFN vyxen On Writing”

  1. ziecampbell June 21, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Hmm… I may have left you a comment on your google+… hah. I am horrid at technology.
    But anyway, I just wanted to say thank you so much for the sweet words on my blog. I was so worried that people weren’t going to like this idea… and honestly, your words were very needed. Thank you!
    All the best,
    Zie

    • Kim June 21, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      Hah. You and me both. It makes sense that we would prefer paper.

      My pleasure! Complete honesty chicka – I’m certainly going to save some pennies. Heh, because I completely need MORE paper products and pens. I’m not addicted. At all. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. carlia June 22, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    i think i’m the exact opposite. i write better (which isn’t saying much) than i blog. ha ha!

    thank you so much for your comment on my blog! you really had me laughing. 🙂 totally made my day!

    • Kim June 22, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

      I wish! I would love to WRITE write better. But…building blocks, I suppose. 🙂

      I’m glad! 🙂 It’s true – you’re awesome!

  3. timberwolf1771 June 24, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    When I’m allowed to read your writing, I’ve really enjoyed it. I wish you would let me read more. In my opinion, you spend too much time editing your writing, and then over edit it which kind of kills it. Where if you wrote like you blogged, maybe it would flow much better. But I’ve told you this tons of times, lol. I love reading both.

    • Kim June 24, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      My writing reads completely differently than my blogging, Wolfman. It’s not that I over-edit my non-blog work, I actually don’t put THAT much time into editing it, it’s that it’s not something I practise the way I practise this. 🙂

      Truth be told, I don’t have much non-blogging work to share. I mean I do, but most of it’s YEARS old and sits in a musty corner of my computer files – not worth anything but the experience it gave me. 🙂

      I’m conceiving of a marriage between creative writing and blog writing for the next NLWG assignment. 😉 Should be fun if I can find some time for it!

Leave a Reply

