Movie Review: The Avengers

30 May

mephy and I just walked in the door from a movie date.  We finally saw The Avengers!

I really only have one thing to say: I want more!

Wow!  WOW!

THAT was a fun way to spend a few hours!

I love comic books.  I love comic book movies.  I usually love DC comic book movies more than I love Marvel’s contribution to the art (X-Men anyone?), but that all started to take a turn when Iron Man came out.  I even have to admit loving Captain America (not, at all, my favourite character – too Superman for me).

The Avengers was outstanding.  Here’s why:

  • Robert Downey Jr. and Jeremy Renner.  ‘Nuff said.  (The acting folks.  Yes, they’re easy on the peepers, but those two gentlemen haven’t failed to impress me for a long time now.)
  • Pepper Potts, Black Widow and Agent Hill.  The (main) women in this movie were rock solid.  There was no damsel-in-distress syndrome suffered here.  These gals could hold their own and brought ovaries of steel to the table.
  • Joss Whedon.  Need I say more?  That man is a rockstar.  He’s got the Midas touch.
  • Comic book action.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for a good action flick.  If it has fantastic elements, all the better.

I actually had only one problem with the film.  One.

*Arr matey!  Thar be spoilers ahead.*

The god in the machine that rendered ET a little less mobile after Mr. Stark partied like it was 1945.  It was just the element they needed to get back to that pesky Loki loose end.  But!  Of all deus ex machina I’ve encountered, it was not poorly written.  I’ll forgive it.  (Frankly, I like Loki better than the random alien people anyway.  On that note, did The Other not completely remind you of Skeletor in Masters of the Universe?  Maybe it was that whole army-through-a-portal-to-Earth thing that did it.)

All in all?  Great film!  Highly recommended to you by me.  (I’m writing a review at 2221h for Heaven’s sake!  This is well past my bedtime.)

AC/DC – Shoot to Thrill

(Yes, that did make mephy’s night.)

UNT.

15 Responses to “Movie Review: The Avengers”

  1. Manca May 30, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    I’m usually not a huge fan of comic book movies, but I agree, this one was so much fun! I was thoroughly entertained. We went to see it a couple weeks ago and the thought of Loki vs Hulk still makes me chuckle. Funniest movie scene ever! 😀

    • Kim May 31, 2012 at 6:20 am #

      “Puny god.” Hah! You’re right, funniest movie scene ever. That was pretty awesome. 😀

  2. Jenny (@osvme) May 31, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    I have yet to see it. I’m waitin’ for my mom to call an be like LETS GOO!!! but she hasn’t yet xD But I’ll definitely take your word that it was a rockin’ movie ’cause it looks like it. Not an ounce of fail to be seen 😛

    • Kim May 31, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Yesyesyes! You should definitely go. This one’ll be great as a rental/download, but there is nothing quite like seeing it on the big screen. 🙂

  3. Mindi May 31, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    I adore Marvel/DC and I always get super excited when any of these films come out! I loved this one so much I saw it twice 🙂 All that man candy *sigh* and lady candy too! Black Widow is awesome!!! Also, Ed Norton has always been my favorite Hulk, but Mark Ruffalo did an excellent job! I loved the Hulk.

    • Kim May 31, 2012 at 6:22 am #

      I was actually super impressed with the actors they have in these roles. They’re super suited to them – and you’re absolutely right Ruffalo did do an excellent job, absolutely!

      I would really like to see this one at least twice (in theatres)! (See that everyone in the area? If you’re looking for someone to go with, look no further!) Such a great film! 🙂

  4. melissa June 1, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    I LOVED The Avengers! I’m ashamed to say I’d never watched Iron Man before but now I just need to. He was awesome!

  5. melissa June 1, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    I ALSO REALLY LOVE SCARLETT JOHANSSON I forgot to mention that part. 🙂 She makes me want to be a bad ass secret agent spy woman.

    • Kim June 2, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      1) You TOTALLY need to see Iron Man! Those are, by far, my favourite Marvel movies – they did such a great job with them! Robert Downey Jr. is the perfect Tony Stark. It’s crazy!

      2) You know? I’m really not a Scarlett Johansson fan. Or, I wasn’t. (Lost in Translation changed a lot of that for me.) But man, oh man is she awesome as Black Widow, ESPECIALLY in The Avengers. She really shone. It was awesome!

  6. Alyx Garner (@adodds) June 2, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Okay, so apparently I REALLY need to see this movie! I have heard so many good things about it!

    • Kim June 2, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Yes. Absolutely! (If you dig comic book/action flicks, of course.) If nothing else, it’s just hugely entertaining and there are really cute boys all throughout.

      (I really don’t mean to talk the show up so much that you (all) go and see it and come back disappointed. That’s happened to me before. It makes me a little sad. Heh, so I’ve started attending movies with a few, to no expectations as possible so as just to enjoy a night out of the house, if nothing else. 🙂 )

  7. greyskysaturday June 2, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    I loved The Avengers too! It took me a while to understand something because I hadn’t seen Thor at the time. I also was only a tad sad that Ed Norton didn’t play the Hulk in the Avengers

    • Kim June 10, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      I actually haven’t seen the Norton version of The Hulk – I really feel like I should. 🙂 (It’s surprising how big a part the Thor storyline plays, isn’t it?)

  8. Kristin - My Life as a Teacup June 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    This is totally late, but I cannot get enough of this movie. RDJ’s acting never ceases to wow me as well as make me laugh, and Joss Whedon should never be denied anything ever again.

    And ovaries of steel? *snort* YES! I know a lot of people are giving Black Widow smack but I loved her. Ovaries of steel indeed.

    • Kim June 10, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      I *love* RDJ. Love. He’s freaking adorable! The perfect Tony Stark.

      Yup. She was actually pretty fantastic in this film. I was suitably impressed! 😀

Leave a Reply

