Mayday!

16 May

Okay!

I joined a(nother) new forum yesterday.  While it’s true that I have been something of a forum whore in the past, this is different (says the addict)!  This is a forum about blogs, blogging and bloggers!  (It’s very like 20SB.  Just.  Different.  And less 20-something centred.)  Better Blogger Network.

I was completely sucked in by the excitement and enthusiasm of my gal Angie and am actually really stoked to have joined.  So far this community is just brimming with awesome, supportive, encouraging, inspiring and ridiculously creative and talented people.  Not surprisingly, I’ve cruised more blogs this week than I did last year.  A staggering percentage of these blogs are telling me one very important thing: time to shape up!

I’ve wanted a change for a while.  I don’t feel I’m doing terribly theme-wise.  You have your lifestyle blogs, photography blogs, bakers talking about baking, artists showing off their stunning works of art and crafty folks flogging their wares. I’m a hack writer who bitches about not writing (…in writing…).  We all fit our niche, folks.

Having said that, I have some questions that I hope you will help me with!

  • Why do you read a blog?  What draws you there initially and what keeps you coming back for future articles?
  • How important is the presentation/aesthetics?  Must a blog be pretty to be successful?
  • Do you like weekly themes (Movie Review Monday, Favourite Picture Friday, Smashingly Hung-Over Saturday)?
  • If you answered yes to the above, do you have themed blog entries you’ve been itching to read but just can’t find anywhere (How to survive the impending Zombie Apocalypse!)?
  • What can I be doing better, or differently?

I’d love some input folks (answers to these questions and anything/everything else you feel you should add).  If you’re a first time vyx.press reader you have a first impression and those are hugely important.  If you’re one of the people I bring here at gunpoint you’ve been around the block with me a few times and have very valuable intel.

Inquiring minds and all that.

One final thing.  If you’re a blogger and you haven’t joined BBN yet?  What the frak are you waiting for?  Seriously!  Go.  Now.

Britney Spears – Piece of Me

UNT.

6 Responses to “Mayday!”

  1. Eileen May 16, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    1. Humor. Most of the blogs I read, I started because I saw something funny. A couple I started because I read something that made me cry, or struck a chord in me. Generally then I’ll check it out, and if the writing style/topics appeal to me, I’ll come back for more.
    2. I’m not super particular about presentation. Overly crowded pages kind of bugs me, even if it’s pretty. Navigability is way more important, imho.
    3. I do like weekly themes. 🙂 Or even just themes that pop up semi-regularly. They can be fun.
    4. I have nothing off the top of my head that I’ve been itching to read. But I do like your book reviews. 🙂 Weekly ones of those might be asking a bit much of you though. You could do a weekly short story though… I’d be into that.
    5. I like that you’re doing more frequent posts now. I’m not sure what else you could be doing. I’ll think on it and let you know.
    Cheers!

    • vyxen May 16, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      E! You’re awesome. Thank you for the answers and suggestions!

      A weekly short story is a great idea. I’m going to have to think about that. Hard. Thank you! ❤

  2. C May 16, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    1. I usually start reading a blog because someone links to it and I’ll check it out. If it’s funny or interesting, I keep going back. If the blog starts to be repetitive, I’ll usually stop reading it. I also like to read the blogs that my friends write, although few of my friends actually admit to it (meaning that I don’t have many to read).

    2. Presentation is important to me because I don’t like having to hunt for what I’m looking for. I also don’t like grammar and spelling mistakes because I think that they show that the writer couldn’t be bothered to use their spell check or re-read what they wrote.

    3. I don’t think I’m a fan of themes, unless I like all of the themes available. I would think differently if the themes were things that you were doing in real life too (for example, blogging about your dog tracking classes after you had finished them).

    4. I haven’t been thinking about themed blogs, but I think I came across one earlier that is related to work that I might check out.

    5. I wish you’d update more often! Now that you’re off of FB, I only have Twitter to see what you’re up to. 😀

    • vyxen May 17, 2012 at 6:43 am #

      I can almost never be bothered to re-read what I’ve written. Unless it’s an essay-style post, then I always edit it! (Old habits, I guess.)

      Dog training posts as and when, I like that idea too! I may have to do that when/if we take the Black Beast back to Noel this summer (as we’ve planned). Thanks C! 🙂

  3. Jennifer M. May 29, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    I usually click the “subscribe” button on a blog because I like how the blog looks, but what keeps me there is real, authentic writing and genuine, interactive bloggers.

    I will “unsubscribe” quite quickly if all they ever post about are giveaways, or if they end up being super boring, or if they never, ever, ever respond to a comment or question of mine. I realize I’m not the center of the universe, but it’s nice to be interacted with once in awhile.

    Yes, please write about the Zombie Apocalypse. This is a niche I find missing on the blogosphere these days. I’m very tired of mommy blogs, DIY blogs, and fashion blogs. And no, I’m not being sarcastic.

    RE: prettifying your blog. I’m a graphic design student so aesthetics are pretty important to me. That’s the one thing about your blog that made me not subscribe to it at first. (I’m subscribed now, don’t worry!). What drew me in were your witty comments on MY blog, which made me realize that I love your writing and personality. However… when first landing on your blog, I probably wouldn’t have taken a second look unless I’d had that preconceived notion that you were worth reading. At the very least, a custom header would be helpful, just so we have a quick vibe about what you’re about.

    • Kim May 29, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      Hah! I actually wrote a guest blog about surviving the zombie apocalypse a year(ish) ago. Perhaps I should do a follow-up! 🙂 That’s awesome. (I’m a little tired of DIY, Mommy and fashion blogs myself. They’re lovely, but not my thing.)

      Jennifer, thank you so much for taking the time to write this comment. I REALLY appreciate the thought you’ve given to my blog (I also really appreciate the subscription and writerly compliment). I’ve been thinking a lot about the “prettification” of the blog and while I’m totally on board with it, I really need to carve out some time to learn a bit about it. I use stock themes because I know how. Heh. I’m creative only so far, I’m afraid – sometimes I can construct a sentence, but I am not, in the least, talented in the visual arts! I will try though. I will try. 🙂 I really appreciate that style is the only concern you have, I’m glad that you’re confident in the content I provide (save, of course, for the lack of Killing Zombies 101).

      The short version: I will work on the aesthetic side of things (I will make you proud! Hah!) and continue to strive to be worth the read. Thank you again, very sincerely. 🙂 Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

