Dear @wilw,

9 May

(This post/letter is coming way later than I had wanted it to.  Busy-ness and shiny distractions got in the way of my completing it immediately after the Con.)

Dear Wil Wheaton,

You are awesome and I want to thank you for that.

I had the privilege and immense pleasure of attending the Calgary Comic and Entertainment Expo the weekend of April 27-29.  I had the good fortune of being able to attend with my husband and a pair of our favourite people.  It was amazing.

As you might expect, we took in a few panels.  We caught your talk with LeVar Burton and Brent Spiner; had a chat with Mayor of Quahog Adam West; absolutely adored the Star Trek: TNG EXPOsed and were beyond thrilled with the addition of Aaron Douglas and John de Lancie; we were wowed by the BSG panel, the salacious Menage à Troi, and our evening with Sir Patrick Stewart.  I have to tell you though; it was your spotlight on Sunday afternoon that ended up taking the cake.

Sure being in the same room as Cpt. Jean-Luc Picard was absolutely mind-blasting and my actual meeting with comic book artist legend Joe Linsner made my life a little brighter, but your talk has stayed with me and I wanted to thank you for that.

You have been exposed to some seriously impressive opportunities and surround yourself with outstanding people.  You get to be a part of some of my favourite television shows and (geek) cultural events.  You are a talented and successful author and general BAMF.  You are someone I would love to buy a beer for.

Thank you for the advice you gave to aspiring writers (you pushed me over the procrastination edge – I’ve decided to quit The Facebook for a stint so I take it away as an excuse not to write).  Thank you for referencing Blade Runner and Toy Soldiers (my husband was amused to be one of the two people who fit that Venn Diagram).  Thank you for repeating every question asked of you in the Boyce Theatre for the rest of your audience.  Thank you for appreciating a good Zerg campaign.  Thank you for being so thrilled to meet up with your TNG crew again and for letting us experience that awe with you.  Thank you for placing your family and friends at the top of your priority list.  Thank you for the respect you showed the Expo attendees that weekend.  We’re all fans of you and your work, but when you chatted with us it was as though we were all just chillaxing in a (veryveryvery big) pub.  I can’t speak for everyone, but I certainly appreciated that.

I’ve been a fan of your work for a very long time.  Now I am a fan of you.  Thank you for that opportunity.

If you ever find yourself a little parched in Northern BC give me a shout – I’ll buy you that beer.

Thanks for being awesome, Mr. Wheaton.

Appreciatively,

K.

For the rest of you, a taste:

 (In theory I would have not blogged this.  Clearly I am too wordy and this would never have fit 140 characters or less.  Heh, and I think Wheaton maintains an unlisted email address so as to dissuade crazystalker fans from being crazystalkers.  Yah.  I did that.  Right there.  You saw it.)

The Guess Who – No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature

UNT.

3 Responses to “Dear @wilw,”

  1. Elizabeth Flynn May 26, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    LOVED this!

    • vyxen May 26, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      Hah – thank you! It was fun to write (and AWESOME to live)! 🙂

  2. Cassie Hensley June 12, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    I loved him back in the day and “rediscovered” him in The Guild series. Love this letter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

