In which a vyxen /squees over JML and John Luck Pickurd.

1 May

So.  I just had one of the best weekends I have ever had.

Last weekend, April 27-29, mephy and I attended the Calgary Comic & Entertainment Expo.  A “nerdgasm” of epic proportions.

This all came about much earlier this year when a great friend of mine announced that the entire cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation (ST:TNG) was going to be meet up for the 25th anniversary of the show.  All together.  For the first time in many years.  Admittedly, I dropped the ball initially.  I am a practiced ticket buyer and am usually able to get into the events I want.  However!  I plum forgot about this one and when the day to buy ST:TNG tickets came upon us, I was none the wiser.  Of course, Fate had already seen fit to deliver me to the Expo . . . who am I to argue with Fate?

Just over a month ago Great Friend called me and left a very excited message on my answering machine advising that new tickets had been opened up for the grand event (the panel of all original ST:TNG cast members was as much an official Expo event as it was not.  An Expo pass alone would not admit you to this event, you were required to purchase additional tickets for Star Trek: TNG EXPOsed)!  Well!  I slithered on over to that there Google and Facebook machine and let my fingers walk until I had tickets to both the Expo and the Trek event (right beside Great Friend and her wonderful husband)!

[Enter Adventure]

I had never been to a con(vention).  I had read and heard a lot about them, but nothing could have prepared me for The Awesome!  Comic book lovers, Sci-Fi fans, admirers of Fantasy – they were all in attendance and they were all amazing!  I could not have hand-picked a cooler (veryveryvery large) group of people to hang out with for the weekend.

In a (hopefully) concise fashion, here are some of my highlights of the weekend:

  • Wil Wheaton.  (I will expand on this in another blog post.  Hopefully tomorrow.)
  • Joe (Mother Trucking) Linsner.  Okay.  Coolest moment of the weekend (even beyond seeing Sir Patrick Stewart live and in person.  Twice): mephy and I were wandering the Exhibitor’s Hall before the final Patrick Stewart event of the weekend.  We were in Artist’s Alley, having just bid a fond adieu to Great Friend and her wonderful husband, when mephy pointed to a particular artist and made my freaking day!  Yes.  Yes, it was in fact JML – the creator of my beloved Dawn – and yes, yes I did get his autograph!
  • Star Trek: TNG EXPOsed!  Oh.  My.  FRAK!  I grew up on TNG.  I adore TNG.  Will Riker was my first crush, for Heaven’s sake!  Not only did I see all of the original cast members (Sir Patrick Stewart, Jonathan Frakes, Wil Wheaton, Brent Spiner, Gates McFadden, LeVar Burton, Marina Sirtis, Michael Dorn and Denise Crosby) live and in concert, mother frakking John de Lancie made a surprise special guest appearance!  Q.  (It was a funny moment.  SPS was asked who Picard’s greatest nemesis was, just as he answered “DaiMon Bok” de Lancie strolled through the audience on the floor with a delivery for “John Luck Pickurd,” clearly denouncing Bok.)  History, my friends.  History.  (There was also a very noteworthy appearance by “oh, we have another fan question.  This one from aVancouverfan” Aaron Douglas.  Fan-fraking-tastic.)
  • The amazing people.  OF COURSE there were people in costume.  Natch.  And you know what?  So few of them were poorly made.  My fellow nerds, the bold ones, are outstandingly talented!  From He-Man and Skeletor to Master Chief and Hexadecimal the costumes we got to see were amazing!  And the people who were wearing them were so friendly, not once turning down a request for a photo op.  Aside from their mad costume skills and aforementioned super (duper) all ‘round awesomeness, these folks asked fantastic questions at the panels!  Sure they were fans, but they’re freaking brilliant and have nothing but respect for the people they came to see.  It was really neat to be able to share this weekend with these folks.

Some not-so-highlights (alas):

  • Joe (Mother Trucking) Linsner.  I know, but this was not (at all) his fault!  He was amazing.  My fault.  I have not paid as close attention to JML as I should have.  I’ve gotten distracted by distracting, shiny things and have stopped checking his forum as often as I used to.  I missed his announcement that he would be at the Calgary Expo.  I missed his announcement that he was taking commissions before the Expo, which fans would be able to pick up at the expo.  To be fair: never, in my wildest dreams, did I think that JML would enter my real life.  He’s like Neil Gaiman.  I enjoy his work, from very, very far away.  Who would ever have thought that I would meet him!?  (Hopefully he attends next year so I can remedy this terrible, terrible mistake and properly chat at him.)
  • Michael Dorn.  ONLY because during his panel with Jonathan Frakes and Marina Sirtis (“Ménage a Troi.”  HAH!) he stopped answering questions and paying any real attention to his audience after about twenty minutes and took to just snapping photos.  I understand that the TNG reunion is just as big a deal to the stars as the fans (perhaps more), but we felt a little ignored.

Oh people – seriously, best weekend I’ve had in a long, long time!  I met JML, saw: the entire TNG cast several times (we attended all of the TNG panels except the Friday night Gates McFadden and Denise Crosby event); a Battlestar Gallactica (BSG) panel consisting of Katee Sackoff, Aaron Douglas and Richard Hatch; the tail end of the James Marsters chat; and The Bright Knight himself, Mayor of Quahog, Adam West!  Wow.  All I can say is wow.

To the folks who organized this brilliant event, the amazing panellists, the outstanding artists and exhibitors and the fans I was beyond lucky to be surrounded by – thank you.  You are amazing people.

Can’t wait until next year!  (Frak it, I’m dressing up.)

And now, here’s something we hope you’ll really like:

Sidebar (and not in the least related to this blog post, not at all): I realize this is popping up on Facebook the day I vowed to take a break (PS. I’m taking a 30-60 day break from Facebook).  No, I am not on Facebook right now.  Networked Blogs auto-updates for me!  (Handy!)  I’m still gone.

Bear McCreary (feat. Bt4) – All Along the Watchtower

UNT.

PS. Brandy?  My only regret is that I couldn’t share this with you.  In person.  There.  To /squee together over TNG. ❤

9 Responses to “In which a vyxen /squees over JML and John Luck Pickurd.”

  1. Melissa May 2, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    Dude that is so awesome!! I’ve never been a huge Star Trek fan but to be fair I’ve never given it a chance either. Will Wheaton is hilarious though, how awesome that you saw him!!

    • vyxen May 2, 2012 at 7:14 am #

      Thanks for the comment, lady! 🙂 Lovely to hear from you!

      I’m not the biggest ST fan of all time, but I LOVE TNG. So much. And yes, it was SO COOL to see Wil Wheaton. He is amazing! New favourite celeb-type-guy. 🙂

  2. Jason May 2, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    TNG!

  3. Clay Stooshnoff May 2, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Thanks for the He-man and Skeletor shout-out!!

    Clay (Skeletor)

    • vyxen May 3, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      Ah! Dude – you guys were amazing! GREAT costumes – made me a little bit giddy, I don’t mind to admit. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. Beau May 19, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Glad to see you had fun! My dad is always bugging me to go to one of these things with him.

    • vyxen May 19, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      You REALLY should! We’re keen to go back next year. So worth attending. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Survey says: Q&A! | Go Fox Yourself - March 14, 2014

    […] I got to meet JM Linsner, the creator and illustrator/writer of Dawn. Guys, I fucking love Dawn. You have no idea. I was […]

Leave a Reply

