Inspiration.

22 Apr

We all have heroes in our lives.  People we look up to.  People we strive to be like.

My mother is a hero to me, an example of the positive way I would like to live my life.  My mother-in-law has shown me how to rise above any challenge – we don’t meet with too much we aren’t equipped to deal with in some way.  My Nana is one of the strongest influences in my life.  There was just something about that woman.  She is who I want to be when I grow up: strong, independent, secure and so strong in her faith and love.

Recently I’ve started looking up to two new women.  Professionally.

Theresa Sapergia, owner/operator and principle artist at Handsome Cabin Boy Tattoo is one of those women.  She has built her life on her love of art.  Not only did she study art in a post-secondary environment but she has also ensured that she is able to practice and perform every day of her life.  I’m sure not every piece she tattoos is a labour of undying love (my most recent ink isn’t exactly awe-inspiring as art, but the theory speaks to me on a deep level), but she gets to paint and draw, on several different types of canvas, every day.  Theresa has made her passion her complete reality.

Bailey Grose, a friend of mine, has done something very similar.  Bailey has dreamt of weddings for twenty-odd years.  Of course she was interested in planning her own wedding and making it a holiday worthy event (and it was!  Her wedding was a piece of art unto itself.  A beautiful expression of her joy, love and passion.  She did a phenomenal job).  More importantly though, she has wanted to do the same for other women for a very long time.  Bailey wanted to become a wedding coordinator.  Less than two years ago, after a lot of work and dedication, she did just that!  Bailey, like Theresa, is the owner/operator of her own business: Bailey’s Brides.  She does outstanding work and while I’m sure she has taken one or two Advil for the headaches she no doubt has had, she’s thrilled to do what she loves.  I have absolutely no doubt that Bailey will be able to quit her day job in a short while and devote her full concentration to her passion.

We all have dreams.  We want to open bakeries, fly planes, write novels, act on stage or in film.  We all want to follow our passions.  These women have.  These women, unlike Martha Stewart, Amelia Earhart, Margaret Atwood, Glen Close or Natalie Portman, are local to me.  They exist in my immediate life.

I talk an awful lot about writing.  I write an awful lot about writing.  But I don’t do it.  Things are coming together a bit more for me though.  I want it more than I ever have before, I’m more driven to work for it and I have the support of my loved ones (and the help of someone who is not just encouraging me to get out and write, but is keen to accompany me on pretentious Bring Your Laptop to Starbucks dates to write with me).  My day job isn’t an excuse not to write, it’s a reason to.  It will support all of my other needs so that I can sit down and do what I need to do.

Thank you, Theresa and Bailey.  You are truly amazing women and you have taught me a completely unforgettable lesson.  I hope that I can come even marginally close to you in my pursuit of passion.

The Airborn Toxic Event – Happiness Is Overrated 

UNT.

Here are some more links to these lovely ladies:

Handsome Cabin Boy Tattoo on Facebook.
Handsome Cabin Boy Tattoo on Twitter.

Bailey’s Brides on Facebook.
Bailey’s Brides on Twitter.

4 Responses to “Inspiration.”

  1. Dee April 22, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Personal heroes and mentors are tangible waymarks that guide us on the paths we want, not the paths we are necessarily on. How lucky are we who recognize them…

    • vyxen April 26, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      …and give them the appreciation they’re so due.

      Absolutely D. 🙂

  2. Bailey April 26, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Kim. I have no words to express how i feel about reading this post. Its such an honour! Thank you!

    I guess the only thing I can say about doing what I do, or more what I did was that the hardest part was building the confidence to simply just do it…because it is just THAT easy….you have to start and from there everything will fall in place.

    Unlike you, i am not great with my words but I hope I am conveying my gratitude towards this post. As much as I may be an inspiration to you, its support end encouragment from friends like you that keep me going 🙂

    • vyxen April 26, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      Hah – you just needed to know. 🙂 You’ve impacted my life. A lot. I’m very thankful for it.

      You’re right. Support and encouragement is key. It’s important. It’s 100% necessary. (I haven’t always had either in anything more than lip service being paid. Things are changing a bit. It definitely makes it easier to put yourself out there when you know someone’s got your back.)

      Just keep on keepin’ on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

