Driving Miss Id.

3 Mar

I am a dichotomy.  (Apparently.)

I was chatting with a co-worker this week.  About tattoo inspired tights.  She smirked at me, recalling our previous conversations about my affinity for roller derby, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, and ink, and told me that upon sight alone you’d never know that I was interested in the things I’m interested in.

I like that.  I’m a mystery you don’t even know is a mystery.

I’m a bookworm.  The librarian type (without the sex appeal).  I dress conservatively (98% of the time), I work in management at a university bookstore, I own a house, keep a husband (and psychotic canine) and have no visible tattoos.  Suzy Homemaker, right?  Not so much.  I live for horror movies, I can’t get enough of roller derby (sidenote: if it kills me, I’m getting involved next season), I’m as addicted to tattoo culture as I am tattoos, I attend burlesque shows and I will choose 94X over CBC radio any day of the week.

I mean it’s not really note-worthy.  Everyone has interests.  I was just tickled to be advised of my enigmatic ego.

In other news: I finally finished that godforsaken review for Books & Co.!  If The Boss and Miss N like it, I’ll link you to it when it’s posted.  If they don’t?  Well, I’ll post it here!

Now?  I’m psyched to go off to work on mephy’s project!  I have to get it ready for next weekend, when I hope to launch it.  I’ll keep you in the know.

Gordie Sampson – Sunburn

UNT.

9 Responses to “Driving Miss Id.”

  1. Simone March 3, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    CBC all the way. But otherwise, word, my friend, word.

    • vyxen March 3, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      That is only because you do not have 94X in GP, Love.

  2. Dee March 3, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Horror shows, huh? Well, as much as I avoid them (because of guaranteed nightmares), I actually was an extra in one (it was shot in Nanaimo, in part). HA! It’s call The Scourge, and if you ever have the misfortune of actually watching it, I am in the restaurant scene where the the main couple are talking about what the Scourge is. If you look top of the screen, middle-ish, I am the lone coffee drinker reading a book. The book was my idea…brilliant touch, I’d say. 🙂
    It was a hoot and quite the experience though…too bad I will NEVER watch the entire show! Cheers!

    • vyxen March 3, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      LOL! That’s awesome! I’ll look it up! (It sounds familiar, it MIGHT be on my beloved Netflix. If it is, it might be tonight’s adventure. 🙂 ) Thanks D! 🙂

  3. C March 3, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    You forgot to add that you sailor-swear.

    No sex appeal? Fuck off!

    • vyxen March 3, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Srsly. True story.

      I swear like a trucker, tyvm. 😀

  4. Tracy March 3, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I get that too, mainly about the ink… though I am not sure why people are surprised I have tattoos. And when they find out and they see them they are surprised _again_ I have BIG tattoos, like I am supposed to have a cute dolphin on my ankle but I have this totem that runs from knee to ankle.

    • vyxen March 3, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

      Sometimes that makes me sad, you know? I love my ink. Love. A lot. But, sometimes I wish it was bigger and more fierce. Not skulls, knives or guns, but I don’t know. It’s actually ridiculous because both pieces mean a lot to me on a personal and spiritual level. Plus really? I have a lot more skin and a lot more time.

      I love your totem. It’s fucking gorgeous. You should run and post it on NL again. I miss its faces.

  5. Tracy March 4, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    I actually would go fiercer… I love Mexican skull tattoos and I have had this swallow/ suicide image I have been secretly wanting for years. But my mum would hate it. She isn’t keen on my totem, she only really likes the Shiva (nice colours lol).

Leave a Reply

