When I rock the mic, I rock the mic right.

5 Nov

I either have dissociative identity disorder or bipolar disorder.

Hear me out.

When I went to bed last night I was done with writing.  Done.  I had some tears, but mostly apathy.  Shit, I was ready to box up all of my How To Write references and donate them to . . . somewhere.  I woke up this morning completely jazzed about life and writing again.

This is absolutely maddening, people.  This isn’t the first time this has happened and I’d be willing to stake a small fortune on it happening again (soon).

Earlier this week I had been playing with an idea I have since decided to implement.  Some of you are aware that I’m jacked to participate in NaNoWriMo this year and some of you are also aware that I have been entertaining house guests since Wednesday evening and have had very little time to do much of anything (better excuse than “I’m too tired after a long day of work,” right?).  So!  Fuck proper time constraints.  My NaNoWriMo is Nov 7 – Dec 6.  It’s not 3DNC and I’m only doing it to kick-start an idea I had a year and a half ago.

Seriously.  Try living in my head for five minutes, it’s a goddamn roller coaster.

Robbie Williams – Rock DJ

UNT.

13 Responses to “When I rock the mic, I rock the mic right.”

  1. MRMerrick November 5, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Damn straight! NANO is about getting your idea down, without letting worries about any of the “rules.” screw the rules and just write!

    • vyxen November 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      I like you. Stick around! 🙂

  2. timberwolf1771 November 5, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    LOL, I hope of of that energy come our way to NL, lol.

    • vyxen November 5, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Will. I started a re-write on my October piece and I like it miles and miles more than what I’d had before. The gist of it is the same, but the presentation is a bit smoother so far.

  3. Samantha Tiner November 5, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Funny, this happens to creative people a lot. 🙂 One minute you love it, the next you’re ready to give up entirely. It is just a way of life. I don’t think you ever get used to it though. *hugs* Just keep doing what you do. The NanoWrimo challenge is the same whether you do it starting the first or the sixth. You just keep plugging.

    • vyxen November 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      This is what I love about NaNo so far. 🙂 Thanks chick, I appreciate it!

      (I WILL write you back. I promise!)

  4. lightningfall November 5, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I’m glad that you’re psyched for writing again, Vyx. I know the apathy that comes every now and then. But you’re good, very good, and I love your stuff. Plus, I’d miss you on Tempest if you gave it up.

    • vyxen November 5, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      Thanks doll. I’m glad I can be moderately impressive at times. 😉

      • lightningfall November 8, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

        Moderately impressive?! And you called me the moron. 😀 Don’t underestimate yourself.

  5. xnrsmommy November 5, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Okay I’m totally not commenting on the written context (though I did read it lol)

    YOU ARE SO FREAKIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am totally in heat over Robbie Williams and this video.

    • vyxen November 5, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

      He’s totally beyond being in heat over, hey? Hot. DAMN!

      You make me smile. Keep it up! 🙂

  6. lesbeau November 6, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    Oh honey. ❤ I'll never claim to know exactly how you feel, but I do know what it's like to feel absolutely fucking insane. I may be clumsy, but I'm here. ❤

    • vyxen November 6, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      And I love you for it. I don’t think you have any concept of how much.

      You lit up my night, last night, chicklet. Thanks for the hug and the giggles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

