Don’t that lady look surprised!?

11 Oct

I gave up my paid writing gig.

That was not an easy decision, as you might imagine.  I thought about it, and decided to persevere.  I thought about it more, and decided the pros outweighed the cons.  Then I thought about it some more, and decided both parties would be more successful if we ended our business relationship amiably.  (Thank you, so much, for first allowing me and then encouraging me to take on a creative role.  I will never forget and always appreciate that.)

Now what?

It’s no secret that I’ve been a little creatively dry these last months.  I let the teachings of the inspired Julia Cameron slip by the wayside.  In my first draft of this post I (perhaps unsurprisingly) got a bit melancholy.  (You can’t blame me too much, I’ve been watching a lot of Angel recently and brooding is almost second nature when you do that.)  I got all what’s-the-point and What Is The Meaning Of Life?  It was messy – you’re glad I didn’t post it, believe me.

I just had a bath.  Normally when I do that, at least lately, I’ve been reading me some Harry Dresden.  This evening I was dead tired and wanted something a bit more serial, so I picked up the October issue of The Writer (you can get it at Books & Co. and I suggest you do, it’s awesome – Owen would be happy to set a copy aside for you every month, just tell him G sent you) instead.  I read an article about how werewolves are the new vampires and/or zombies.

Okay, so as far as Great Literature is concerned it wasn’t that inspiring.  Point is?  People write.  Every day, in every circumstance.  Mothers, fathers, doctors, line cooks, cancer patients . . . they all make the time.

I’m participating in NaNoWriMo this year.  I have a friend who has so enthusiastically agreed to write with me, to be my motivation while I act as hers.  I’m not going to chince out.  I’m also going to hit up that aforementioned bookshop next week when I’m off work on vacation (this is your only warning Booksters.  You don’t know when I’ll be there, you don’t know where I’ll sit, you just know that I’ll show up.  Probably more than once.  My advanced apologies).  I need to get my shit together.  (I love pep-talk by blog.  It’s always so fun!)

Help me out, people?  Keep me honest.  Make me feel guilty by asking about the book, short story, poem or piece of erotica (rly?) I’m working on.  NaNoWriMo’s right, the more people you tell the more writing you’ll have to do . . . don’t want to look like any more of an asshole than you have to by promising productivity and not putting out.  It just ain’t right.  Write?

Stereo MCs – Connected

UNT.

PS. Because it’s been in my head ALL DAY (thank you Cotter and G-Lo):

You’re welcome!

5 Responses to “Don’t that lady look surprised!?”

  1. Jason October 12, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    I’m looking forward to see what you’re going to do. And you know I’ll keep on you about it.

    • vyxen October 12, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      …as long as it doesn’t interfere with Tempest. Or the Guild! 😀

      • Jason October 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

        Well, yeah, there is that. 😀

  2. timberwolf1771 October 13, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Am I one of the people allowed to ask you about your writing?

Leave a Reply

