Whoa! This isn’t woodshop class?

2 Oct

The blog and I have not been seeing eye to eye.  I suppose this is not news, given my Monty Python, Blackadder and Angel video posts, not to mention the ABC meme.  I have to post once a week.  I made a promise.  It’s just not coming easily these days.

Confession: I haven’t been writing.  It started out really well with that TAW course – I did my Morning Pages and even found myself getting creative ideas again (to the tune of working on four different prompts for the Northlands Writing Group).  But, in true Kim form, I fell off the wagon.  Oh, I know I can get back on, I’m not really worried about that.  I had my reasons for letting it slip and I don’t regret it.  I have guilt, but I don’t regret working on other things.  However!  I need to write.  I have a pesky idea sitting in my noggin (two actually, but I’m not ready for the second yet.  I need practise before I can tackle that), fermenting.  It’s just getting stronger.  This pleases me.  mephy has even commented on the juggernaut-of-win-ness of this idea, so it really needs to be explored.

I suppose I’m a little sapped.  It’s no secret that this year has not been my favourite.  I feel like I’m investing too much energy into my job and not leaving enough for the important things.  Jobs are neat, they help pay the bills, but they’re not life.  Well.  Mine isn’t.  It is, however, stressful.  Too much so.  I’m allowing that to seep in and nibble away at my poor little brain.  That has to stop.  mephy, Ayla and writing are more important, they have to move back to the front of my priority line.  (The good news: I’ve been taking Little Miss Unholy Terror for a walk every weekday morning at 6am.  It’s great for her and fabulous for me – and helps achieve my walking five days a week goal!  Huzzah – puppies are great excuses for exercise.)

Interesting: I was checking the daily post prompts on WordPress this afternoon, looking for possible inspiration, and came across a listing for NaNoWriMo.  It occurred to me that this is one of those really great excuses to actually start to sketch that aforementioned writing project idea out.  NaNoWriMo isn’t for a perfect, polished piece (alliteration FTW) – December is for that.  NaNoWriMo is a challenge to get you going.  Get ideas out and get creativity flowing.  I have twenty-nine days to decide whether I want to do this or not, and get my shit sorted.  What do you think?  Should I try?  Have you tried?  Are you trying, this year?  What say you, friends, family and fans?

Some things to think about, for sure.  Re-prioritize.

Orgy – Blue Monday

UNT.

UPDATE!  I am a Facebook whore, most of you know this already.  Just before publishing this entry I shared the NaNoWriMo fanpage to my profile and asked many of the same questions I asked here.  Three awesome people “liked” it and encouraged me to go forth and conquer the written world, and one amazing soul eagerly suggested we take the NaNoWriMo challenge together and act as motivation for each other (which will include a few coffee-and-writing-dates at various local java joints, naturaly)!  I agreed.  So?  I’m in!  NaNoWriMo will make me it’s bitch.  (Thanks J!  I’m really looking forward to this!)

4 Responses to “Whoa! This isn’t woodshop class?”

  1. Jason October 2, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Congrats, Vyx. It sounds like fun, enjoy yourself.

    • vyxen October 2, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      Thanks hon! 🙂 You should do it, too! You’re all Mr. Writer Extraordinaire! You are a NaNoWriMo natural!

  2. timberwolf1771 October 5, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    This is awesome foxy one! I do need to start writing, lol. I look forward to writing with you!!

    • vyxen October 5, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      Ditto Wolf. 🙂 I’m pretty psyched about it, too!

Leave a Reply

