Book review: The Shaman’s Beacon by RM Brand

5 Sep

I have been given a special gift.  A dear friend of mine recently shared her new book with me, asking only that I review it in exchange.  I told her what I am telling you: I would have purchased it (I live to support authors – ask my local bookshop) and written this very same review.  All the same, I sincerely appreciate the gift and am honoured that she respects my opinions and readership enough to ask that I share my reaction to her novel with you.

Here goes!

A wonderful debut novel.

I like a good romance novel, I’m not ashamed to admit it.  I like a strong initial attraction, yummy sexual tension, a plotline that doesn’t read like a Bazooka Joe comic strip, and a heroine who stands on her own two.  Throw in fur or fangs and I’m generally pretty interested.

RM Brand’s The Shaman’s Beacon presents all this and more.  Brand begins with sassy, independent femme Linda, adds burly, (very) well endowed werewolf shaman Clayton, and carefully mixes them together while sprinkling in a dash of dangerous half-werewolf and a pinch of heart-wrenching pack tragedy.  All of this while displaying a mastery of language and style, a recipe for literary success.

Brand very clearly loves to write.  Her affection for story telling is evident within the pages of this novel.  This love and devotion are what make The Shaman’s Beacon such a joy to read.  The characters are dynamic and real, the plot and reactions to it are visceral and the author’s dedication to her work is inspiring.  With paranormal romance becoming a dime-a-dozen genre, it is so refreshing to find an author who takes care to weave an honest appreciation for her art and her audience into her story.  Sure there’s some really great sex in this book, it is a romance novel after all, but that’s not the focus.  The focus is the story.  That is what makes the sex better.  The foreplay: the romance, the tension, the story and, my personal favourite part, the spiritual journey.

The, sometimes almost insurmountably rocky, path Linda steps onto at the beginning of The Shaman’s Beacon is the most striking part of the story for me.  You see, this novel isn’t just about a strong attraction between a stubborn, independent woman and fierce, yet gentle werewolf shaman or the amazing intimacy they share.  Nor is it just about rising to the defence of family and doing the right thing, despite horrifying circumstances.  Threads of Linda’s – and to a lesser, but just as relevant, extent Clayton’s – journey of the spirit are interlaced in every aspect of The Shaman’s Beacon: her past, her present, and her future.  Linda did not show up stubborn, strong and ready to take on the world on page one.  She had baggage she had to make peace with and leave behind.  That is what I enjoyed most about this book: the characters evolved.  Even centuries old pretty-rock-solid Clayton bowed with the breeze.

If your interest is piqued, pick up the book.  This book is for fans of paranormal romance, urban fantasy, great writing and solid story-lines.  I thoroughly enjoyed The Shaman’s Beacon (I read it in just over a day-and-a-half) and sincerely hope that this is Brand’s first in a long line of literary offerings!

Note: this book is only available electronically.  Please visit Red Sage Publishing for downloads!  (I read it via Adobe Acrobat on the laptop – it’s not my favourite way to read, but it all worked out in the end.)

Urge Overkill – Girl, You’ll Be a Woman Soon

UNT.

8 Responses to “Book review: The Shaman’s Beacon by RM Brand”

  1. C September 5, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    oooOOOOoooo. My interest in piqued. 🙂

    Excellent job on the review, btw.

    • vyxen September 5, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Awh. Thanks C, I really appreciate that. 🙂

      You should read it! It was a great, great book and such a joy to read. 🙂

  2. Jason September 6, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Great review, Vyx.

    • vyxen September 6, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      Thank you muchly! 🙂

  3. Rachael Gonzales September 7, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Great review! It’s great to see someone that enjoyed the book as much as I did!

    • vyxen September 8, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Thank you Rachael! 🙂 It was a fabulous read, wasn’t it!? 🙂

  4. xnrsmommy September 28, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Just purchased it! I’m looking forward to digging in. (I was telling Brandy how I wanted to read a good romance novel)

    • vyxen October 1, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

      Oh good! You’ll love it – it’s a great book. Rosa did such a fabulous job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

