Cultivating my inner artist.

29 Aug

I took a (small) break from TAW.  Taking the Little Black Monster to dog classes took a great deal of time (and energy).  I kept up on the Morning Pages and I still worked on personal creative writing projects, I just placed a bookmark in the text and shelved it for a few weeks, until I could get back to it with a fiery vengeance.

I’m back.

I’m on Chapter Three.  I though I would share one of the exercises with you!  (Lucky you.)  This one is intended to begin to “restore the persons we have abandoned – ourselves.”  (Ms. Cameron says that “when you complete the following phrases, you may feel strong emotion as you retrieve memories and misplaced fragments of yourself.”  She’s not wrong.)

Detective Work, An Exercise (p.73)

1. My favourite childhood toy was . . . (and always will be) Dusky.

2. My favourite childhood game was . . . cops and robbers on bicycle with the neighbourhood kids in the cul de sac.  Or My Little Pony.

3. The best movie I ever saw as a kid was . . . Masters of the Universe.

4. I don’t do it much but I enjoy . . . hiking.

5. If I could lighten up a little, I’d let myself . . . dance.

6. If it weren’t too late, I’d . . . re-watch Nightmare on Elm Street 4.

7. My favourite musical instrument is . . . the cello.

8. The amount of money I spend on treating myself to entertainment each month is . . . considerably less than it should be.

9. If I weren’t so stingy with my artist, I’d buy her . . . a new notebook a month, and a new pen to go along with it.  Guilt free.

10. Taking time out for myself is . . . not at all as easy as it should be.

11. I am afraid that if I start dreaming . . . my life will completely change (and I’ll enjoy the then more than I enjoy the now).

12. I secretly enjoy reading . . . Cosmopolitan.  (Is it that much of a secret?  Really?)

13. If I had a perfect childhood I’d have grown up to be a . . . veterinarian.

14. If it didn’t sound so crazy, I’d write or make a . . .book.  (It’s actually not as lame an answer as I initially thought it was.)

15. My parents think artists are . . . not something a productive member of society should aspire to be.  Not wholly.  Just as an after-work hobby.

16. My God thinks artists are . . . precious.

17. What makes me feel weird about this recovery is . . . taking time to do the things I want to do.  For me.

18. Learning to trust myself is probably . . . going to get me into a world of trouble in the end.

19. My most cheer-me-up music is . . .KISS.  Anything by KISS.  (And “Sex Bomb” by Tom Jones, but the version that features Mousse T.)

20. My favourite way to dress is . . . sassily.  I so rarely do, but I so enjoy it when I get to.

KISS – Domino

UNT.

6 Responses to “Cultivating my inner artist.”

  1. MJ August 29, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    I ❤ you. I truly do. Cause Masters Of The Universe? best movie EVAR. Even though Dolph Lundgren really sucked balls. hahaha Still a great movie. I heard they're making a remake. I think I shall boycott it. lol And I think I'll watch MotU tomorrow while the hooligans are in school and can't make fun of me. LOL!!!!!!! So, progress on the passport? 😉 😉 😉 I need a foxy fix!!!

    • vyxen August 30, 2011 at 7:02 am #

      Passport photos are done, application is mostly signed, I just have to find a pair of references (well, ask the pair I have in mind) and we’re off to the races!

      I’ll bring MotU when I visit! 😉

  2. C August 30, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Oh. Is this (#5) why you asked about the shuffle?

    • vyxen August 30, 2011 at 7:02 am #

      Nope. Watching shuffling videos is why I obsessed about the shuffling. 🙂 It’s seriously cool and I want to be able to do it! 🙂

  3. timberwolf1771 August 30, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Hey foxy one! These are some great answers and really explain a lot.

    I really liked #5, #9, #11, #15, #16, #18, #19, #20. They all explain a lot about you to me 😀

    **hugs and licks**

    Love you!!

    • vyxen August 30, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      I love you Wolf. So, so much.

Leave a Reply

