The Artist’s Way.

28 Jul

Remember March?  Remember how I said that I was going to be all that I could be?  Remember how that idea fell into the gutter and I totally fell off the wagon?

Me too.

Remember May?  Remember how I said that I was going to join Kendra in the #5CC – the Five Chances Challenge?

Me too.

Remember June and (most of) July?  Remember how I’ve been less-than-peppy?  It’s been troublesome, folks.  It’s actually been a bit too much.

So.

It’s time to actually do something about it!  My fellow #5CCers and I have re-rolled on the Challenge (no one was very successful first time ’round).  I’ve brought my ideas back down to basics.

  • I want to write.
  • I want to walk.

That’s it.  Everything else is incidental.

Walking is easy, I just have to get motivated.  I decided that getting up at 0530h isn’t as much fun as it sounds, so I’ve taken to going for a walk when I come home from work (because I have finally realized that I do not have to start cooking dinner at 1630h, it really can wait until 1800h or so).

Writing is difficult.  I can’t just start.  I’ve tried that, I get overwhelmed and give it up.  I can’t do that anymore.

While I was in Vancouver on a course in late June I stumbled across a bookstore (naturally) during my lunch break.  In this bookstore I found The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.  I’d been meaning to read this book for a while (Kendra recommended it – she’s a pusher).  When I bought it I flipped through it.  Did you know it’s set up to be a course?  I didn’t.  This made me think and my response was: why (thefuck) not?  What do I have to lose?  At least this way I can start slowly and take the baby steps I really do need to take in order to achieve my goal.

So far?  So good.  I’m on day three and I’ve done at least forty-five minutes of writing every day (an hour on Monday and today), which includes the Morning Pages.  It’s not easy, but it’s important and I understand that this is a foundation.

Krome – Turn It Up

UNT.

5 Responses to “The Artist’s Way.”

  1. Samantha Tiner July 30, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    The Artist’s Way is absoluely one of the best (in my opinion) kickstarters for artists out there. It’s something I continually come back to when I feel I’m in a rut. Hope that it does you some good as well. I know it has me.

    ~Samantha

    • vyxen July 30, 2011 at 10:26 am #

      So far so good!

      It’s not easy, but the important things in life rarely are.

      Thank you. 🙂

  2. hirondelle August 1, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    I had the Artists Way (recommended to me by an amazing friend) and although I read it and enjoyed it. I didn’t ‘do’ it and therefore it didn’t “change” me. I like the idea of the morning pages though because (as we discussed earlier) it is kind of meditative. I am just rereading Writing Down the Bones (thank you again) and enjoying it again. She is explicit in her parallels between writing and Zen. I sometimes feel leery about reading books to make me do something I could be doing instead of reading the books, lol. But it is fun I guess – and you discover things about yourself. For instance: You know who I want to be? As a writer? Bill Bryson. I always think of myself writing in terms of fiction, but really deep down I want to write like Bill Bryson. I adore him.

    • vyxen August 1, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      I’m usually not the “let’s do what the book tells us” person. I’ve avoided TAW for a while because of that. But. I needed to do something and this seemed as good an idea as any. And it’s only twelve weeks. After that, we’ll see what happens. 🙂

      I love Writing Down the Bones, so much more this time around than last. I really enjoyed it the first time I read it, but there’s something more to it for me now. Kind of funny how you grow sometimes.

      I dig Bill Bryson, I think he’s a great “I want to be that when I grow up.” 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TAW: A week in review. | Prolifically Barren - July 31, 2011

    […] Post navigation ← The Artist’s Way. […]

Leave a Reply

