Caution: (Book) Meme Ahead

24 Jul

Okay, I’m reasonably sure I said I wasn’t going to do this anymore.  But . . . women are unreasonable.  (That, and Angie just does such an awesome job of answering these things, I can’t help but fill it out.)

Here, some cruisin’ tunes.

Led Zeppelin – Ramble On

1. Favourite book – When I’m feeling pretentious I like to say Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse, but all around favourite?  Talking to Dragonsby Patricia C. Wrede.
2. Least favourite book –
(I’m going to go with Angie on this one.)  Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.  I’ve read the whole Bella-/swoon-Edward series and while I really don’t hate the series, I’ll go with definitely not my favourite.  I recently tried really hard to re-read Twilight but failed miserably after a chapter and a half – I think the sparkly vampire thing is done for me.
3. Book that makes you laugh out loud – I’ve been known to chortle in the middle of a few books.  Most memorably: A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore.  Hi-fucking-larious.
4. Book that makes you cry – Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.
6. Favourite young adult book – Talking to Dragons by Wrede.  Amazing.
7. Book that you can quote/recite – My memory’s not that stellar, I’m afraid.  I’m okay with Fox in Socks by Seuss.
8. Book that scares you – The Bible.
9. Book that makes you sick – What to Expect When You’re Expecting – Arlene Eisenberg.
10. Book that changed your life – Stardust by Neil Gaiman.  This book made me less interested in scribbling and more drawn to writing.
11. Book from your favourite author – American Gods.
12. Book that is most like your life – I have yet to read anything that unexciting.
13. Book whose main character is most like you – The Duff by Kody Keplinger.  I have almost no (physical) self-esteem and am sarcastic and cynical.  Awesome.
14. Book whose main character you want to marry –
I’m sorry world, there are no (published) fictional characters I am that attracted to.
15. First “chapter book” you remember reading as a child – I don’t remember.  Does Nancy Drew count?
16. Longest book you’ve read – Naked Empire by Terry Goodkind.  I’m sure it’s not the longest by page count, but it certainly felt the longest (I didn’t finish it, and I haven’t gone any further in the series).
17. Shortest book you’ve read –
Shortest book?  Animal Farm is one of them.  Oh!  Okay.  Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland.
18. Book you’re most embarrassed to say you like – Pfft.  If I’m not ashamed to own up to my love of Britney Spears, there’s nothing I’ve read that makes my face red.
19. Book that turned you on – The Howling by Gary Brandner.
20. Book you’ve read the most number of times – Talking to Dragons.  (Overkill – this really is my all-time favourite.)
21. Favourite picture book from childhood – Popcorn by Frank Asch.
22. Book you plan to read next – Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way.
23. Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished) – There isn’t one.  Just as I’m not ashamed to have read something, I’m not ashamed to have not read something.  If I haven’t finished a book, there’s a reason.  If I haven’t picked one up, there’s a reason (mostly I’m getting to it).
24. Book that contains your favourite scene – Titus Andronicus by Wm. Shakespeare.
25. Favourite book you read in school – Lord of the Flies by William Golding.
26. Favourite nonfiction book – Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.
27. Favourite fiction book – OH OKAY – I’ll switch it up.  Let’s see.  Someplace to Be Flying by Charles de Lint.  Freaking amazing.
28. Last book you read – Magic Slays by Illona Andrews – not the best in the series, but fun to read all the same.
29. Book you’re currently reading – In Cold Blood by Truman Capote (no Bookies, I haven’t finished it yet.  /Sigh).
30. Favourite coffee table book – I Like You : Hospitality Under The Influence by Amy Sedaris.
UNT.
4 Responses to “Caution: (Book) Meme Ahead”

  1. 8. Book that scares you – The Bible.

    LOL. I knew I loved ya for a reason!

    • vyxen July 24, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      Hehe. I aim to please! 🙂

  2. Cristina Broderick July 28, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Oh, fun!

  3. C July 28, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Oh, this looks fun!

Leave a Reply

