Calm the whirlwinds of your mind.

10 Jul

Okay.  I’m irritated.  I just came across (on The Twitter) an article about reported hauntings in the Vancouver (BC) area.  One of the locales for such an event is the Vogue Theatre on Granville.

I attended an Apocalyptica concert in the Vogue Theatre a few years ago and I experienced no ghostly encounters.  This is bullshit.  Guys, I watch Supernatural, I totally know what to do when face-to-noncorporealface with ghosties!  You can appreciate my distress.

Moving on.

As usual, I was at a loss as to what to write about (my life is seriously unexciting.  I wake up, I walk, I take the puppy out to pee, I showerandeatbreakfast, I work, I come home.  That.  Is.  It).  So, I do what I usually do and begin the journey toward inspiration!  Today’s trek brought me to plinky, where I found this:

Do you think money can buy happiness?

I.  Do.  Not.

Let’s go back to a favourite quote of mine:

“If you want to know how God feels about money, look at whom she gives it to.” – Anne Lamott

I hate money.  Hate it.  I understand its worth and I strive to obtain more of it, so as to maintain my current status quo, but I really don’t like it.

Money drove me to pursue a career I should never have pursued.  (SIDEBAR: I do not regret my time as a telecoms operator.  Quite the opposite.  I learned so much while I worked with the RCMP.  However, it stands that this was definitely not the correct profession for me.)  mephy and I, like all of you, have bills.  More money gives us the opportunity to pay our bills and save a little something extra.

The people I know who have money – they’re not terribly plentiful in numbers – are prime examples of money buying misery.  Sure they have lovely homes, pretty cars and lovely things, but they’re not happy.  (Generally they’re vapid, pretentious snobs.)

Money does not buy happiness.  Money allows for food, shelter, heat and some nifty extras, but that’s about it.  Friendship, family, love, creativity, fun, puppy cuddles . . . those are the credits you need to come into The Happy.

Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks

UNT.

2 Responses to “Calm the whirlwinds of your mind.”

  1. C July 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Liz used to live in a haunted house, and her sister lives in one right now. You should hang out there to get your ghostly kicks.

  2. timberwolf1771 July 11, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I totally agree with you on the whole money thing. From my experience, and from the people I’ve talked to, the more money you have, the more headaches you have and the more bills you have.

    I love reading what you write! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

