Of KISS and Snail Mail.

3 Jul

I tried really hard to construct a proper review of Wednesday night’s KISS concert, guys.  I really did.  It didn’t work.  I don’t have words for the awesome.  Here, have some pictures!  (Fuck it.  I wrote a review, hated the review, privated the review . . . you can read it.  Don’t judge me.  Hard.)

Fucking astounding.  Agreed?  Good.  Moving on.

I want to talk about writing.  (Incredible, I know.)  Not just any kind of writing, correspondence writing.

love emails.  I love them because, as a general rule, they’re not spam (I have my junk filters set pretty high).  When I get an email, if it’s not from dictionary.com, it’s usually from someone.  Sometimes it’s about work (updating me of upcoming events for the articles I write for the bookshop), but mostly it’s about life.  I catch up on all sorts of fun life events via email: baby stories, promotions, graduations, heart-wrenching setbacks and sometimes Saturday night menu plans.

My mailbox, the kind that lives at the end of my street (my mail does not come to my house directly, but is deposited into a block of similar mail boxes), and I are engaged in a tumultuous affair.  I do not have my junk mail filters set on high and am consistently met with menus for Domino’s Pizza, real estate advertisements, and “To the Grocery Shopper of the Household” surveys.  And bills.  (Not to mention pathetic bank statements reminding me of how much I contribute to those bills.)

But!  Things are beginning to change.

That’s right, I’m talking about letter-writing.  Pen pals.  I have (very recently) been getting into the habit of writing letters.  I have to tell you folks, this is a dying art that totally needs to be resurrected.  Let’s just ignore the base bonus of not-bills (or sad bank statements): there’s the opportunity to make or buy fun stationary, the tactile feeling of holding a letter rather than reading it on a computer screen (comparable to the book vs. e-reader argument), the pens – oh the pens!  I have recently come into contact with a fountain pen, which I have not yet used in letter-writing, but am stoked to test out – and let’s not discount the slowness of it.  In this world of I want it all and I want it now, it’s pretty refreshing to slow things down a bit.  Writing a letter takes a fair measure longer than writing an email, sending it takes considerably more time and then you have to wait for your pal to respond and send.  The antica . . . pation makes the process that much sweeter.

I think, if you’re at all curious, you should give it a whirl.  I am so loving snail mailing and I need more people to write to!  What say you, friends?  Thoughts?  Feelings?  Addresses?

(Seriously.  For any of you who are interested, please lob me an email – inorite? – and we’ll do an exchange of addresses.  I’d love to correspond via badass stationary, boss pens and unfontlike penmanship!)

UNT.

KISS – God of Thunder (Country Version)

6 Responses to “Of KISS and Snail Mail.”

  1. MJ July 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Yep. I’m there. The only problem? Stationery. I lack it. And currently the money tree is being a bitch and not putting out. 😉 I think it’s the weather. Or maybe it’s that the neighbor’s dog peed on it. I dunno. lol Anyway…write to me!! If I have to, I’ll make my own darned stationery and write back. You have my addy!!! ❤ though, I think I actually owe you a letter…hmm….

    • vyxen July 3, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Pfft. Lame. Kendra made her own stationary from paper and watercolour paints. You have NO EXCUSE, MJ.

      I will write to you! Yes. (I’ve been meaning to. I really have! This is a driving force. Expect a letter.)

      (You don’t owe me a letter-letter (yet), you owe me a PM! 😀 )

  2. Lightningfall July 3, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    It will be coming! I promise!

    • vyxen July 3, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      I eagerly await!

  3. klaushorky July 12, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Hi, I don’t know you and you don’t know me. BUT, I have 40 years of correspondence (air mail letters) of my papa in Austria in my dresser drawer. Although he died in 2001, I too like to write on paper with a pen. Okay, a ball point pen. Yes, I know what a fountain pen looks like. I wrote all my grade 5 essays with a fountain pen in the fifties.

    What has all this to do with you and snail mail? Well, I turned 65 in May and I am afraid of becoming obsolete. I am going to have to find a hobby, I am told by other old timers and keep busy.

    My mate, my sailboat, my chain saw and my job as a DeHavilland Beaver driver keep me out of the mall so far. Yet I hear so many horror stories of people that retirement means a slow decent into oblivion.

    In the mean time I have papa’s autobiography to translate from German into English. Although my 25 year old son is attending German classes in Vienna for the next three months, he won’t be able to read his Opa’s life story for a long time. I have started to translate it yet it is tedious and I am still struggling to find the right English words to convey papa’s feelings when he was three years old.

    You may have detected a sense of me being a frustrated story teller. Yes, I have submitted the odd story to CBC radio one. And yes they have even aired one on “The Early Edition” a few years ago.

    And many of my passengers have told me I should write a book about the 35 years of uneventful – I like to keep it that way – bush flying. I have few irons in the fire. BUT my middle name is “Master Procrastinator”.

    Where do I go from here? 100 odd UNFINISHED stories screaming to be finished, that’s where.

    Do you want to correspond with me via snail mail. I promise to write a page of something funny a month.

    Deal or no deal?

    Klaus Horky
    1881 Garland Drive
    Gabriola Island, B.C.
    V0R 1X6

    P.S. Sprechen Sie deutsch?

    • klaushorky January 20, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      The post box is empty! I guess I didn’t convince you that I was worth the effort to make more home made paper. Do I need to send you some recycled paper from Gabriola Island?

      Waiting, but not holding my breath,

      Klaus a.k.a. boldbaldy

Leave a Reply

