We always walk tall! We’re Jets! The greatest!

26 Jun

I had an adventureful weekend!

Well.  Okay.  I had an adventureful Friday!

My skookum new job came with a Professional Development (PD) account.  With my PD I am able to attend learning events!  One such learning event was advertised by SkillPath Seminars, and The Bosslady decided it would be in my best interests to attend.  So, we signed me up, booked a couple of flights and called ‘er a day!

[Enter adventure.]

What I failed to take into account when visiting the in-house travel agent was the get-off-of-the-plane-and-to-the-seminar time frame.  The plane touched down (in Van-fullofcrazyrioterpeople-couver) at 0824h and the course began at 0900h.

Aside: Vancouver stresses me out.  I’m not terribly fond of the city as a general rule and getting around in it makes me more irritable than normal.  (That is mighty irritable, folks.)

[Exeunt adventure.]

[Enter stress.]

Prior to this trip I had polled my Lower Mainland people to determine my most successful mode of transportation.  The best answer came from an astoundingly fantastic friend of mine who attends conferences and seminars in the very same hotel where my learning party was to occur.  Ms. CM, who also always catches a flight from her home in Northern BC, recommended the CanadaLine train, which would take me from the airport to two blocks away from where the seminar was to take place!  Great, great news.

[Exeunt some stress.]

When I landed in Van-City I high-tailed ‘er to the CanadaLine station, bought a ticket and jumped (very nearly akshully) aboard!  The rest was total gravy, folks!  I was a bit late for the course, which I expected given the twenty-six minutes I had between landing and learning (I’d called the SkillPath people a week and a bit prior and outlined my predicament.  They told me not to worry, the first few minutes were going to be introductions anyway, no big).  After apologizing to the facilitator and fellow learnees, I enjoyed learning how to excel in management and supervising.

[Exeunt the rest of the stress.]

Before I switch gears, I feel that it’s necessary that I tell you exactly how much of a nerd I am.  During the hour that I was allotted for lunch I decided to wander around in downtown Van-City (’cause really?  Why not?).  It should come as absolutely no surprise that I made it half a block away from the seminar location before I found a bookstore.  That was the end of my meandering.  (I bought The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.)

I would like to give a shout-out to Ms. CM for all of her help – I seriously would have been a giant bag of knotty stress if it weren’t for you, lady.  And hey?  So great to see you this afternoon!  I would also like to thank Princess and Muffin for travelling from their respective places of work to have dinner and hang out with me at the airport before I left for home again.  It was so awesome to see you guys, too – I miss you!  Can’t wait until you come visit!

Ready for the gear-switch?

Kay.

When you’re a Jet, you’re a Jet all the way!

I’ve had this niggling feeling, since the onset of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, that I should be a hockey fan.  This, in itself, shouldn’t have been noteworthy, or a problem.  Fact is, I didn’t know who to follow.  I didn’t want to jump on the Canuck bandwagon – for two reasons: 1) I don’t like bandwagon jumpers, and 2) I just really don’t like the Canucks (Canuck fans scare the living shit out of me).  I suppose I could default and cheer for Dad’s Canadiens, but I feel that I should forge my own path.

How fortuitous that Winnipeg decided it was a good idea to bring their team home, hey?

New hockey fan.  New(ish) hockey team.  It seemed right, y’know?  (I hope it lasts, I could totally get into hockey, guys.  It’s fun!)

#GoJetsGo!

WSS – Jet Song

UNT.

5 Responses to “We always walk tall! We’re Jets! The greatest!”

  1. C June 26, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Speaking of Canucks’ fans, did you happen to see any of the mess while you were downtown?

    Does this mean you’re going to start watching hockey now?

    • vyxen June 26, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

      I did not, no. I was only really on Broadway though, I don’t think the crazies hung out there.

      I AM! I hope. We’ll see if this new-found passion carries over. 😉

  2. Simone June 27, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    JETS FTW!

    • vyxen June 27, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      Oh hey! ‘Grats Simone – you just won yourself your very own INTERNET right there!

  3. timberwolf1771 July 17, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    Well I’ll be! I had no idea you weren’t a hockey fan, lol. But I do have to say that you have picked a great team in the Jets! Though if you were still up in the air on a team, I would have suggested Minnesota Wild, but I’m biased, lol. Great article, and I’m glad you didn’t get to stressed out while in Vancouver.

    Keep up the great writing!

    **hugs and licks**

Leave a Reply

