Of Twitter and Apple Pie.

19 Jun

First.  Before I start anything I would like to share a quote with you.  It is relevant and important.

[If] you want to know how God feels about money, look at whom she gives it to. – Anne Lamott

Now.

My hugeawesome plans for today’s blog were totally thwarted by the tragic death of my camera’s batteries (last week, but that’s really not the point).  Today, as most of you know, is Father’s Day (HAPPY FATHER’S DAY, DAD! ♥).  My mother decided that this blessed event was a great reason to have the family over for dinner.  Being the wonderfully fantastic daughter that I am (ya rly), I offered to make dessert.  Long story short: it was recommended that I bring pie.  Homemade pie.  From scratch (remember how I learned how to make pastry?).

Longer story short: it was a smashing success!  (w00t.)  The point of this emo-fest is that I was totally going to write another episode of Adventures in Baking for you cats, but the camera thing kind of screwed me over for that.  (I tried, guys.  I found an obscene number of orphan batteries and thieved them from from various remote controls.  Nada.)

So.

Instead, I bring you: the awesomeness of social media!  In this case?  The Twitter.

I was idly hitting Refresh on Twitter yesterday afternoon (that happens to me sometimes), after I commented on being terribly addicted to #urbanfantasy , and was surprised by a @Mention from someone I hadn’t encountered before (who was, I assume, out cruising hashtags) asking me neat questions about Urban Fantasy.  Turns out?  She‘s an author with a book currently under consideration by my good friend Harper (feather plucking) Collins.

I’ll shorten another long story for you: the internet surprises me.  Rarely do I expect much more than an email from Dictionary.com advising me that the word of the day is “virilocal” (which I may never use in a sentence).  But.  Yesterday Fate saw fit to deal me an Ace.  The second best part of this meeting (after coming across someone awesome, natch)?  I wrote.  RH and I had been chatting about writing and, after I’d found a new-old (re-discovered my initial Muse) source of inspiration on Friday, I felt compelled to write.  (Nothing at all noteworthy, but it was a start, I don’t hate it, and I want to work on it more.)

So.  This weekend was pretty cool.  I have a skookum new writing colleague, I legitimately started a project I’ve been trying to start for over a year now and I made pie!  Yup, totally boss.

TPotUSA – Naked and Famous

UNT.

8 Responses to “Of Twitter and Apple Pie.”

  1. Becca June 19, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Awe! You have no idea how I feel the same. Okay, you do, because I’ve gushed already 🙂 I’m so glad you are going to start writing and I hope I get to see some! And something tells me you are going to be a natural, and WAY better than you give yourself credit for. Talk about “fate” that we got to chatting. It’s neat when life lines up that way!

    • vyxen June 19, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Awh! You commented! Awesome!

      Yes. You will see it! After I write something substantial enough, and tidy enough, to send away! 🙂 (Miss I-Have-An-Edited-MS! :D)

      I really, really love it when things work out. I am every so thankful for it. 🙂

  2. C June 19, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    #1. I totally had to see what “virilocal” meant. Now I know.

    #2. The Twitter confuses me. Does this make me old?

    #3. I just had homemade pie! And the best part was that I didn’t have to make it!!

    #4. Sounds like you had an amazing weekend and I’m excited to see/hear what your inspiration produces. 🙂

    • vyxen June 22, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      No! You have, like, NO time . . . and a life. I have no time, but I also have no time. Thus? I tweet. LIKE A FIEND.

  3. Mom June 19, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    If we were Neil’s parents, you’d be living virilocally! lol Great word…I’ll never remember it, though! I will, however, remember the great pie you made today. You should have told me about your battery dilema…I’d have take a picture of your masterpiece for you! Love you, doll! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • vyxen June 22, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Eh. There will be other pies! I am certain. (In fact, I’m attending a BBQ this weekend and am very seriously considering busting out that frozen other-half-of-the pastry and making another apple pie!)

      Love you, too! 🙂

  4. gingerbearbc June 20, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    digital cameras normally take Lithium batteries, because they use more energy then a regular battery can provide, thus stealing from other electronics rarely works. 🙂
    I started my first real Blog post. Work in progress. I don’t know if I’ll ever actually get that damn thing off the ground…..

    • vyxen June 22, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

      Hah! That is good to know. Clearly I know veryveryvery little about cameras. And batteries.

      Get it off the ground! 🙂 Do it. Now(ish). Because you are amazing and I want to read the things you write. 😀

Leave a Reply

