Risk.

29 May

Today’s prompt at dailypress.wordpress.com asks an interesting question.  Pertinent even.

How do you decide what risks to take?

Well WordPress, I’m glad you asked.

My most recent risk undertaking was decided on a whim.  There was a job posting within my union that I was interested in.  It was a job with considerably more responsibility than what I was doing at the time, but within the same department.  I met some of the desired qualifications, but not all (ain’t that the way).  In all honesty, I had all but decided not to apply.  I figured I’d cut my losses before they started.

This was, of course, until I mentioned the posting to mephy.

Husband-guy said (in more words than this): what’ve you got to lose?

He was right.  What did I have to lose?  A job I may never have?  Pfft.

I applied.

Long story short?  I interviewed, ran a gamut of tests and was offered the job.  I accepted (and start work – from my new mother-trucking office – tomorrow).

It’s been a bit of a long road, but I’ve decided (since this adventure especially) that I will take risks based on the “what do you have to lose?” rule.  Most of the time they will be in my realm of interest (furthering my career in my desired work environment, for example.  Or submitting a story to a contest or magazine).

Really, it’s like the clothes shopping trip I went on this afternoon (I needed that whole “dress for the job you want” wardrobe update – new job, new digs): when I saw an item I was curious about, or sort of liked on the hanger I thought “what do I have to lose?” and tried it on.  Sometimes it didn’t work, but I came home with some pretty skookum pieces that are going to go well in my work wardrobe.

All in all?  This entire endeavour was a huge success and now I have a fantastic (and super-nifty) set of new challenges to meet.  And I’ll look good doing it – win win.

(It’s) Britney (Bitch) Spears – 3

UNT.

4 Responses to “Risk.”

  1. basia June 4, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Congrats!! Hope you love your new job.

    • vyxen June 5, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      Thank you so much! 🙂 So far so good.

  2. Faith June 5, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Congratulations on the new job! I love the “What do you have to lose?” attitude. If it doesn’t hurt, there’s no reason not to go after what you want 🙂 How fun!

    • vyxen June 5, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      The “what do I have to lose?” attitude doesn’t hold up ALL the time, I admit. But you’re right, if it doesn’t hurt, why not?! 🙂

      Thanks Faith! 🙂

Leave a Reply

