World, meet Ayla!

8 May

mephy and I went to Alberta this weekend.  We drove to Edmonton on Friday, and then to Sylvan Lake and all the way back home (via Drayton Valley) on Saturday.  Twenty-odd hours of driving in forty-eight hours.

Why?

Because I am obsessed with dogs.

Well.  I was obsessed with dogs.  Now I am obsessed with dog.

We chose to procure our fuzzhead through a breeder.  This took some research.  Years of research in fact, as mephy and I had been talking about getting a dog for a very long time now.  It was my belovéd Angel of Evil who stumbled across and decided on Janzhaus German Shepherds in Sylvan Lake, Alberta.  He loved the look of the stock and the strong European lines therein (that his GSD is of working stock is very important to my mephy).  (This is why we went with a purebred – papered, registered and all – my friends.  mephy is a GSD fan bred, born and raised and it is very important to him to have a good shepherd.  A healthy dog that we know what to expect from.)

After a few months of emailing with the breeder, we decided on the pairing between Suzie and Baro.  The litter of four wriggly little fuzzy heart-breakers was born on March 14.  (The first day of the rest of our lives.)  I kept in close contact with the breeder and viewed litter pictures as they became available.  When the six-week photos were posted, mephy fell head over heels.  Of the four relatively standard marked puppies there was one who stood out.  A pure black little critter with floppy ears and an assertive stare.  We were both a little disappointed when the next set of images did not include this Little Miss, but were excited to welcome whoever we were destined to meet on Saturday.

You know the rest of the story.

Our pup’s amazing breeder introduced us to our little girl and mephy’s eyes lit like I’ve rarely seen them light when he cast gaze upon the little black ball of fur.

She is amazing, folks.  Amazing!  She took the ten hour car ride like a champ; was car sick only once, whined for about fifteen minutes total, at the beginning of the trip, and was perky and spunky and playful when she wasn’t dozing to pass the trip.  Since then (last night) she’s been outstanding.  Sure there was some crate crying induced sleeplessness and some “holy crap, WTF am I supposed to do now?!,” but there’s also been a lot of super fun play (she’s a great pouncer), great cuddling and really, really interesting behavioural observations (she’s as curious as she is sassy, and a sweetheart and a half to boot)!

I love this little fuzzhead.  I love her something good.

Kosmonova – Ayla II (Club Mix) (Yes I see what it says.  Yes DJ Ayla did the song Ayla first and did it very well, but Kosmonova knocked it out of the park.)

UNT.

6 Responses to “World, meet Ayla!”

  1. MJ May 8, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh Kim she’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I so wish I could come snuggle her. And I am SO not a dog person. 😉 I’m a fuzzy person though and yeah, she’s just gorgeous!!!! She looks so smart, and she does have a stare doesn’t she? I cannot wait to watch her grow up and become the absolutely BEAUTIFUL dog she’s going to grow to be. I am so stinkin’ excited for you guys!!!!!! All three of you. 🙂 ❤

    • vyxen May 15, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you hon! 🙂 We’re pretty smitten with her – she’s wonderful! And yes, very smart. And assertive and GREAT with everyone she’s met so far (human and canine). We’re so stoked to be able to watch her evolve from adorable, curious pup to amazing (intimidating) dog. 🙂

      *Snuggs.*

  2. Faith June 5, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    That is such an adorable puppy! I love the name Ayla, good choice.

    Oooooh I want a dog! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Enter vyxen. « Prolifically Barren - May 15, 2011

    […] Comments « World, meet Ayla! […]

  2. Cultivating my inner artist. | Prolifically Barren - August 29, 2011

    […] took a (small) break from TAW.  Taking the Little Black Monster to dog classes took a great deal of time (and energy).  I kept up on the Morning Pages and I still […]

  3. Fuzzhead. | Prolifically Barren - October 23, 2011

    […] Ayla: Juggernaut of Win Part 1 […]

Leave a Reply

