Lovin’ It Loud!

1 May

First and foremost.

KISS is coming and I scored tickets!  mephy and I are going to see the hottest band in the world for the second time (and we’re going to bring mephy’s brother and sis-in-law along for the ride)!  That’s right.  November 14th, 2009 marked my ultimate concert event!  I got to see KISS, my all-time favourite band, live and in concert!  I never thought I would have that opportunity.  I certainly never thought I would have that opportunity a second time, and in my own backyard to boot!  Epic, folks.  Truly epic!

I think it goes without saying that I’m over the (freaking) moon about this.

Now.

As you know, mephy and I went away for the Easter (long) weekend!  I want to share some of the awesomeness that was that weekend with you.  First, we got an early start, after picking up a coffee before hitting the highway, and that always makes for a better drive.  Then, as soon as we arrived at mephy’s parents’ house, we were greeted by a fantastic breakfast (mephy’s dad makes the most amazing breakfasts.  Ever).  We were also greeted by the family dog, a stunning German Shepherd who is, perhaps not coincidentally, one of the sweetest dogs I’ve ever encountered.  We had a lot of fun with Sophie (the GSD).  Now, beyond the awesome visiting, amazing food, and the Canucks losing to the Blackhawks, I learned new things!  For dessert on Easter Sunday my mother-in-law wanted to create pie, but she did not want to do so on her own.  She wanted to teach me!  I learned how to make pie crust from scratch!  NOT ONLY THAT.  My MIL, the amazing woman that she is, also taught me the first steps of knitting!

I feel a great deal more domesticated, folks.  It’s pretty awesome.  I’m so looking forward to making pies of my very own.  Better yet?  I’m stoked on life to be able to finally make butter tarts that will make my Nana proud!  I only wish they could survive the trip to Ontario so that the Butter Tart Queen could taste test them herself!  (My mother has, graciously, offered to taste them for me and report back to Nan.  So nice of her, right?)

And?  Completely unrelated to all of this, but it’s something I have been meaning to blog about.

The #5CC!  Kendra’s “5 Chances Challenge!”  In a nutshell: despite the fact that we all have things we’d like to change in our lives (our health, artistic endeavours, self-confidence, what we read and how often we read it, etc), we’re never ready to actually go through with it.  We always wait for the “perfect time” to start a diet, write a novel, or train for a marathon.  Well, like divine intervention, perfect moments never arrive.  Best to employ Nike’s motto and just do it.  Kendra has challenged her readers to “just do it,” but she’s taken it a step further and has also given us a community of like minded folks who will encourage, support and gently nudge their peers in the right direction.

I have goals.  I’ve been neglecting them.  This shouldn’t shock any of you.  I can sit here and list reasons and excuses, but at the end of the day it only hurts me to not accomplish what I’ve set out to accomplish.  So.  I’m a week late on the just do it, but here I am.  I’ve set goals, and now it’s time to meet them!

It’s been a great week so far, and it’s only going to get better.  Saturday is Puppy Pick-Up day!  That’s right, the fuzzhead is almost with us!

KISS – I Love It Loud

UNT.

8 Responses to “Lovin’ It Loud!”

  1. MJ May 1, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Have I mentioned lately how much I love you? I do. You rock my socks. ❤ I'm SO excited for you to go see KISS again. I'm super excited to see the results of Kendra's challenge. I toyed with the idea of participating myself. Unfortunately, as it stands I simply don't have the time or the brainpower. Too much to do. 😦 Which, I'll admit is a bit of a cop out, but not totally. LOL So I'll live vicariously. 😉 Maybe next year she'll do it again and maybe then I can participate. *snuggles*

    • vyxen May 3, 2011 at 7:41 am #

      I’m still 100% unsure about K’s challenge. It’s not easy and I’m not doing well with it. I really have to figure out how to curb this procrastination thing.

      I think it’s an ongoing thing – when you feel you can “play the game,” jump in. It’s not about time frames, just about laying excuses to rest and actually doing the things you really, really want to do in your life. 🙂

      • Kendra May 4, 2011 at 5:31 am #

        It is not easy 😛 I’m struggling too Kim, massively. But that’s the whole point of the community. I have tried soo so so many times to change things and make habits and it’s hard without support or people telling you to go do it. So far, a lot of people aren’t into it as much as I had hoped BUT I’m here if you ever need yelling at and PLEASE feel free to yell at me when you see me complaining lol

        Also, have fun at the concert!!

    • Kendra May 4, 2011 at 5:30 am #

      MJ – it’s not a time consuming challenge. I don’t want it to be at all, It’s about fitting things into your life because you want to be a better person 🙂
      I do have the sign up thing still up on the original post but I won’t have people begin the challenge/take part in the community if they sign up now until the next challenge starts. (Early July!) I hope you join 🙂 and please, email me if you have questions or anything!

  2. Carolina Valdez Miller May 2, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Daaaang, you’ve had a seriously awesome week!! I don’t think life could get much better than this. So cool you’ve gotten to see KISS twice! And had such a great time over Easter! Your enthusiasm shines through. It’s lovely to read about.

    • vyxen May 3, 2011 at 7:42 am #

      I did have a seriously awesome week! 🙂 While I agree that there’s not much that can top that, I maintain the “OMGOMGOMGOMG PUPPY!” Hehe – I’m beyond over-the-moon, now!

      Thanks for stopping by, chicka! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Of Twitter and Apple Pie. | Prolifically Barren - June 19, 2011

    […] My hugeawesome plans for today’s blog were totally thwarted by the tragic death of my camera’s batteries (last week, but that’s really not the point).  Today, as most of you know, is Father’s Day (HAPPY FATHER’S DAY, DAD! ♥).  My mother decided that this blessed event was a great reason to have the family over for dinner.  Being the wonderfully fantastic daughter that I am (ya rly), I offered to make dessert.  Long story short: it was recommended that I bring pie.  Homemade pie.  From scratch (remember how I learned how to make pastry?). […]

  2. The Artist’s Way. | Prolifically Barren - July 28, 2011

    […] May?  Remember how I said that I was going to join Kendra in the #5CC – the Five Chances […]

Leave a Reply

