Oh yes WordPress, I most certainly have!

17 Apr

Okay!  I’ve been hugely out of commission this week.  It’s exam period, so not only am I wandering around with my nose in a book, I’ve opened my schedule to more workable hours.  And I caught the Black Plague, so I’ve had motivation to do almost nothing but mini-marathon my way through Gilmore Girls (much to mephy’s chagrin).

Because of this your regularly scheduled blog could have been another meme.  But!  I decided not to do that to you because (quite frankly) I’m getting sick of them, too – I’ll leave my surveying to Facebook from now on if I can help it.  So I scoured the dailypost.wordpress for inspiration and smiled when I came upon this gem:

Have you ever considered writing a book?  If so what kind?

Why yes!  Yes, I have considered writing a book.

But you knew that.

Have I mentioned what kind of book I’d like to write?  I don’t recall.

I want to write young adult literature.  YA-lit is, in my oh-so-humble opinion, one of the most important genres of writing.  (Okay.  It is the most important imo-s-ho.)  If it’s done right, it’s hugely influential (à la: Are you there God?  It’s Me, Margaret).  If it’s not done right, you hear about it . . . from the most honest, sensitive and amazing readers picking up books.

How is that not just neat!?

If my (life) plan works out, I’m going to write a YA-lit story for the 15-18 year-old girls.  I want for there to be an alternative to Gossip Girl (rant: whoTF buys any book in that series for their PRE-TEEN daughter!?) with a Cimorene/Morwen/Shiara-awesome non-fantasy protagonist (read: no-nonsense, bitchin’, strong femme protagonist who won’t take no crap off of nobody).

That is my dream.  I want to write a book and I want to write it for young women (because, frankly, I have no young man experience from which to draw).

How about you?  Have you ever considered writing a book?

Dream Theater – Fatal Tragedy

UNT.

2 Responses to “Oh yes WordPress, I most certainly have!”

  1. CR_Marko April 19, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Dream Theater, awesome band to attach to this post 😀 great melodic metal.. hehe.. good choice

    • vyxen April 20, 2011 at 7:21 am #

      You know? I used to be anti-DT. In circles I used to run the band was talked up so much I felt I had to take the con side just for the sake of balance. But. I rediscovered them recently and haven’t looked back – GREAT music for writing to. Right up there with Apocalyptica (my first love).

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

