101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: The Nerdy Edition!

8 Apr

Part three of the series!

As you might guess, the “what makes you a nerd?” list came from Kendra (who got it from Cassie at The Veda House, who got it from Michelle of Oh, Mishka).  This is a small part of what makes me a total nerd:

  1. I think one of my parents’ standard poodles looks like a Mystic from The Dark Crystal.
  2. In my world “expletive deleted” takes the form of “frell,” and “frack” (in various forms).
  3. I have decided, however blasphemous, that Neil Gaiman created the world (a la The Sandman).
  4. When we were very newly together, I used to watch mephy play CS (Counter-Strike) for hours.  He says now that one of the reasons he married me is that my favourite map is Militia.
  5. Very few people will watch Hackers with me because I tend to recite the script along with the film.
  6. The theme from The Young and the Restless will always remind me of ST:TNG, because TYatR always preceded ST:TNG when I was growing up.
  7. While we were in the same apartment, mephy and I used to play D2 for hoursandhoursandhours (with Benny too, of course).
  8. I have been known to read Shakespeare for shiggles.
  9. My totem (spirit) animals are my tattoos (save for one – I don’t have that last critter quite yet).  Naturally, I also have key chains to match those animals hanging in the rearview mirror of my car.
  10. The next two tattoos I have planned (before the final creature) are reading and writing inspired.
  11. I’m currently in the middle of watching Gilmore Girls (I’m on S4).  Whenever Dean gets irritated and Hulks out I chuckle and say “Sammy Winchester, ladies and gentlemen!”  (On a related note: I love that his name is Dean in GG and his brother’s name is Dean in Supernatural.)
  12. I make up stories about people I encounter in my daily life.  For instance: why is the exuberant 16-year old girl buying an AA book?  (I haven’t written this history yet, but it’s been brewing for a while.)
  13. Times New Roman is my favourite font.  (Dave says this is because I haven’t seen Helvetica.)
  14. While I was tracking the evolution of this nerdy-things list I came across “Oh, Mishka.”  The (fantastic) author of this blog used the word “absurd,” and it made my day just a little brighter.  Absurd is a really nifty word.  I love nifty words.  I love stumbling, totally randomly, across nifty words in use by totally neat people.
  15. I love words like nifty, neat, keen, skookum and boss.  Fun vocabulary makes me smile.
  16. One of my favourite dreams is to start a story with “fuck.”
  17. I’m going to a roller derby bout this weekend and my new weekend goal is to write a piece of creative nonfiction about the bout.
  18. mephy and I named our cat after a favourite StarCraft character and plan to name our puppy after a favourite song.  (I also once kept a rat named Amalthea.)
  19. We just got a shipment of new journals in at work today and I got SO EXCITED (they close with a SNAP).  I want one.  I think I will buy one.  I have plans for it, coffee and sunlight.  (There are also fancy-dancy new pens in fabulous colours.  I will buy one of those, too . . . and will also show you both.  Possibly with sunlight and coffee.)
  20. I have two sets of KISS action figures – regular ones and some Psycho Circus flavour.
  21. I can read leet.  Not just 1337 leet, but |337 leet too.
  22. I am moderately obsessed with play-by-post RPG and constantly have characters formulating in my noggin.
  23. I once wrote an essay comparing and contrasting He-Man and Hercules.  For class.
  24. When I grow up I want to be Cimorene.
  25. I love serial horror movies.  Nightmare on Elm Street chief among them, but I also really enjoy the “bad” ones like Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer – and I think I need to marathon through those again one of these days.

(Part 1.
Part 2.)

Matthew Good – Weapon

UNT.

6 Responses to “101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: The Nerdy Edition!”

  1. tinyelk April 8, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    I heart you. You are boss (boss is one of the words I thought only I had stolen from the 80s!). I haven’t seen Supernatural – though we’re considering starting it (not the royal we, me and Michael who is a real other person…) – but Gilmore Girls is made of win!

    Done now.

    • vyxen April 8, 2011 at 9:47 am #

      Supernatural is a MINOR obsession of mine. Hot boys, ghost stories and a fantastic car – you just can’t go wrong! 🙂

  2. chris April 8, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Love it!!! lots of people call me the dorklord just sounds so better then nerdlord I can then say to customers come to the dorkside when selling them miniatures ( or as shandra calls them dollies 🙂 lol ) Love reading your work keep it up 🙂

    • vyxen April 11, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      Dorklord is pretty awesome, Chris! 🙂 Hah – I love it.

      Nerds of the world, UNITE! w00t.

  3. Carolina Valdez Miller April 9, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Helvetica is an awfully nice font. Just sayin…

    😉

    • vyxen April 11, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      It’s true. It really is. 🙂 What can I say? I’m held at bay by my Stockholm Syndrome symptoms. 😀

Leave a Reply

