Adventures in Baking!

27 Mar

It was my sisty’s birthday on Friday!  (She turned old, but not as old as me.)  Our illustrious mother invited us to celebrate this blessed event on Sunday (today!) for the First BBQ of the Season (this is just as joyous an event as the birthday)!  I volunteered to make dessert.

But what to bring!?  Birthday cake is fun, but we’ve been eating that for a few years.  So.  I asked.

The answer: “I’m kinda partial to cheese cake.”

Diggity.  Cheesecake is something I can do!

First thing’s first, folks – you have to decide on a flavour.  mephy is a huge fan of citrus cheesecake, so I’ve done the lemon, lime and triple citrus (lemon, lime and orange at the same time – things get a little crazy in our house) a few times.  I even made a kickass pumpkin cheesecake for Thanksgiving dessert.  I wanted to try something new this time, but something that would be fun and Spring-y.  So, I got my Google on!

‘Lo!  I found this recipe and I thought I would share with you the adventure in baking that I had today!

I’ll spare you my play-by-play.

So the first steps are pretty rudimentary, right?  Make the crust, melt the chocolate, add the melted chocolate to the creamy cheese, and strain the seeds for the (*presto!*) raspberry sauce.  Okay – this next part?  SUPER FUN!  I’ve never made marble-y baked goods before . . . this made me smiley.

First: The Blob(s)!  (Why yes, there are three raspberry blobs beneath the layer of cheesy filling these blobs are floating on!)

Next: my favourite part!

And then it was shown to the back of the oven.  And presto! a cheesecake was born.

But it doesn’t end here, guys!  Oh no.  Your friendly neighbourhood vyxen decided to get jiggy with the chocolate and made, yes, filigrees!  (Nothing fancy, but I had fun.  This did, however, reaffirm that I shouldn’t do any kind of writing on a Sunday.)

Of course I had to blog about it!  How could I resist!?  It was CHEESECAKE!

As it turns out, the cake tasted awesome and I was even able to doctor my cursive error with a broken heart.  Can’t go wrong with that kind of success.

Happy birthday, Sisty!  I love you.

50 Cent – In Da Club

UNT.

12 Responses to “Adventures in Baking!”

  1. timberwolf1771 March 27, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Mmmmm, that looks delicious! The pumpkin cheese cake sounds like the best. You will have to make it for me some time!!

    Keep up the great work and keep writing!

    • vyxen March 27, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      The pumpkin cheesecake is my favourite so far. If you ever get the chance to come on by my way, I’ll make you cheesecake. 🙂

  2. chris March 27, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Omg looks and sounds very good mmmm

    • vyxen March 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      It was – make it, Chris! So easy, so tasty! 🙂

  3. C March 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    What did you misspell?

    • vyxen March 27, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      NOTHING! Heh. I was too nervous about handwriting with chocolate that I forgot to cross the “t” in “birthday.” /Facepalm.

  4. MJ March 27, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    You’re officially my hero. I’m really dying with the lack of oven now. If this oven doesn’t get fixed in the next two weeks, someone is going to die. And it’s going to be slow, and without cheesecake. >_< You did MARVELOUSLY darling!!! ❤

    • vyxen March 28, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      Hah – thanks hon! 🙂

      I don’t know what I’d do if the oven wasn’t working. I hope yours gets fixed REALLY SOON. >.< There's only so much microwave cooking and take-out a person can handle. 😉

  5. Kendra March 28, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    That looks fantastic! Looks so pretty and delicious 🙂
    I’m kind of known in the family for making cheesecake and I’ve been looking for a new recipe to try so if you think it’s good I’m gonna steal it!

    • vyxen March 28, 2011 at 7:32 am #

      It was pretty good, K. And? Super fun to make! 🙂

  6. Mom March 28, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    The cheesecake was fabulous, Kim! Thanks again for making and bringing it!! xoxoxo

  7. Sisty March 28, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    The cake was wonderful sisty! Thank you soooooo much!!!!
    ❤ love you!!!

Leave a Reply

