An Honest Fox.

17 Mar

So.  Remember when I rocked the failboat and tried my hand at the 3-Day Novel Contest?  Remember what I learned from that experience?

Divine intervention will not come to you.  No matter how many good deeds you have done in your life, no matter how much you pray for it, it will not come.

It took me a while to remember.  This became more clear as I reflected on my professional discontent.

Happiness is an interesting thing.  People can bring it into your life, for sure, but only momentarily.  Happiness won’t last unless you make an effort.  There are a few adages, in various word arrangements, that reflect on the fact that only you can make yourself happy.  Other people, puppies, rainbows, sex and sun-shiny days just serve as (fun) distractions.  If you’re unhappy, you’ll get back to being unhappy unless you make the change.

I’ve believed this for years, but I don’t always practice it.  Why?  Why would I allow myself another day of “FML?”  Yeah, I don’t know either, so I won’t.  (Yes kids, things will make me sad/distressed/afraid/etc, but I don’t want to be unhappy.)

So!  As I’ve done before, I vow to do things to make me happy.  Walks, writing, eating better, etcetcetc – the things you’ve come to expect of me.  As I’ve done before, I’m tracking my progress on a public forum.  As I have not done before, I’m advertising this fact to everyone I know through this blog and its update on Facebook and Twitter.  The more people I feel held accountable by (whether you read this and that or ignore it all completely, I will know that I’ve posted this, I will know that you could be reading it, and I will feel guilty if I let it all slip by the wayside because it’s not just me anymore), the more likely I will be to maintain a schedule.

In partnership with the wonderful world of The Northlands, I present to you:

An Honest Fox.

It’s been a great start so far – let’s hope I can keep it up!

Tiësto (feat. Tegan and Sara) – Feel It In My Bones

UNT.

Oh.  And folks?  While you’re checking out my thread on The Northlands (NL), you should explore the whole forum.  Then join up!  There are some pretty amazing people there who are doing some pretty amazing things.

5 Responses to “An Honest Fox.”

  1. timberwolf1771 March 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    This is an awesome idea foxy one! I may have to borrow parts of it, if that’s ok, lol.

    I can for sure help you with the writing bit. I like reading what you write.

    • vyxen March 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      I think it would be awesome if you wanted to track your progress and keep on a routine, Wolf! I certainly don’t own patent on the idea, you don’t have to seek my permission! 🙂

      If I write anything worth reading, I’ll send it. Seems as though my fiction needs a lot of work, so some initial practice is a good idea. 😉 Thank you for the support – you are amazing. 🙂

  2. kitkat March 20, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    wow nice and goodluck with finding ur happy place 🙂
    its so true that u are the only one that cn make u genuinely happy! i’m goin to check out the other site nw 🙂

    • vyxen March 22, 2011 at 8:47 am #

      Hey there! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Thank you for the “g’luck!” Things are actually going pretty fabulously, so far – the sunshine helps with that, you just can’t b pissy when it’s gorgeous out!

      Have fun on NL! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Artist’s Way. | Prolifically Barren - July 28, 2011

    […] March?  Remember how I said that I was going to be all that I could be?  Remember how that idea fell into the gutter and I totally fell off the […]

Leave a Reply

