Freelance Writing.

6 Mar

Whoring myself out to the highest bidder is something I’ve been strongly considering lately.  Or, let’s face it, whoring myself out to anyone who’ll spare me enough coin for a one-and-one.

As much as I’d love to bust out the ol’ fishnets, I am referring to freelance writing – as you may, or may not, have gathered from the title of this post.

You see, I currently write the “Upcoming Events” email and blog for Books & Co..  I contribute to the Facebook fan page and Twitter account for the same store, and a little more than 50% of the written content on their website has come from me.  (The day that dawned on me was one of those “well holy crap” kind of days.  It was neat and I feel like I should probably be given a gold star.)  The fact that I get paid to do this has placed me into the freelance market.  This got me thinking.

How cool would it be to get paid to write?!  Pretty darn cool, I think!

So.  Are any of you amazing people playing the freelance writing game?  I need some help.

I ordered a book on the subject (because that is what I do).  (Important sidenote: I really need to write about my feelings about reading self-help writing books.  Do not let me forget this.)  I have researched freelance writing through the oracle Google.  Alas, I am still not sure how to go about starting up, short of actually just starting.  I think it’s pretty clear that I’m a fan of my city and I really enjoy writing about local events.  Is this a foot in the door?  Can I contact a local business; use my sneakily obtained, awesome contacts to approach someone so that I might begin to build a brilliant portfolio?  Perhaps I should begin actually contributing to the student newspaper up at UNBC, instead of just talking about doing it.

Apparently there are sites, like Suite 101, that promote freelance writing and encourage application.  Are there others?  Tried, tested and true ezines, websites and/or other magnificent resources that you are aware of?

I think, given a little bit of extra time in a day, that this is something I could actually do.  I’ve been offered a few article gigs on The Northlands that I really need to get working on.  It’s all about kicking my procrastination habit, I think.  If I can lay that to rest, I’ll be aces.

Thanks for the consideration, folks.  I’d really appreciate some advice.

On a completely unrelated note, I need two (new) things.  I want to update the look of my blog.  It’s obviously very template – I picked a theme out of a pile and went with it, bare bones.  I also want a new name for the thing.  “Prolifically Barren” is beginning to grate on me.  Admitting this, I hope, will help get my creative juicosity flowing.

Spiderbait – Black Betty

UNT.

13 Responses to “Freelance Writing.”

  1. coccolaretights March 7, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    Hey, don’t knock the fishnets! Good luck.

    • vyxen March 12, 2011 at 8:55 am #

      Wouldn’t dream of it.

  2. The Wolf March 7, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    I’m really stoked for you. If you have local contacts for blog writing, ezine writing, news paper writing, or magazine writing, I suggest you start there. Start small, and write as much as you can. And make sure to keep me in the loop so I can read what you’ve wrote!

    **hugs and licks**

    • vyxen March 7, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      Yes – keeping it local would be good. There are a few things I could get involved with in regard to the local music scene, so I may try to take in some more shows and go that route. 🙂

      Heh. I shall keep you in the loop!

      • The Wolf March 13, 2011 at 1:54 am #

        That’s good. You must, must, must keep me in the loop. I’d love to read what you have to say about the local music scene. But I’m also sure there are a few local publications that are always looking for people to write for them. Search them out and use your contacts, lol. Always use your contacts.

        **hugs and licks**

  3. tinyelk March 7, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    PLEASE keep us posted! I would love to read about your journey into writerdom! Do it, DO IT!

    • vyxen March 7, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

      Of course I will, chickie! 🙂 Thank you, so much, for your support and encouragement. You are AWESOME! 🙂

  4. Michael J.C March 7, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    You inspire me Kim. Its been so long since I’ve written with any sort of ‘seriousness’. In fact, its pretty well come to a slow halt over the last 5 years.
    I love that you blog.
    You rock.

    • vyxen March 7, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      Awh. Michael. You’re so lovely. Thank you, so much, for this. 🙂

      My writing is halted, too. I basically blog and TALK about writing – that’s it. Nothing terribly noteworthy.

      You should blog. It’s fun! And the only obligation is what you set for yourself – it can be a fun challenge, and at least it’s something, even when you’re just filling out a meme/survey/thing.

      You rock, too. I miss you!

  5. Kendra March 7, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Good luck Kim! This sounds fantastic! 🙂 I have no advice for you, sadly. Ask on twitter?
    Also, if you find any great contacts/places for freelancing online, please let me know! Scott and I would love to jump on the freelance wagon with you.

    • vyxen March 7, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Consider it done. When I have a moment (after Thursday this week) I am going to get into research mode and see what I can see – I will keep you guys updated, for sure! I would love to work together with you and Scott. It would be very awesome to have colleagues with whom to commiserate! 🙂

  6. C March 9, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I had forgotten about what you said about writing for B&C’s website but was on there the other day and saw a couple lines that sounded like you!

    I recommend using those contacts to the best of your ability for the simple fact that you have them. In this town it is definitely WHO you know that gets your foot in the door.

    Best of luck and keep updating about your success (because you’re bound to have it) on here!

    • vyxen March 9, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      At least I have B&C for contacts. The areas of PG that I find most important, and interesting, count B&C among PG’s more valuable gems. You’re right, it’s a heckuva foot in the door.

      Thanks C. 🙂 You rock my socks!

Leave a Reply

