Nancy O’s, A Prince George Gem.

9 Feb

Prince George (PG) has some of the most amazing culinary venues that I have ever experienced.  I am cultivating a dislike of franchise restaurants, folks.  I do have a special place in my heart for the Whiskey River BBQ Chicken Wrap (with tomatoes) from Red Robin and the Grilled Chicken and Baked Brie Ciabatta at Earls (that fig jam just slays me), I admit it.  However!  In recent years I have begun to hold local fare in much higher regard.  Our Northern Capital plays host to places like Cimo, Thanh Vu, North 54, and Nancy O’s among others.

Nancy O’s.  This one’s new to me.  I am an avid fan of Cimo, Thanh Vu, and North 54, but I had not tried this newer eatery.  Not until last night!

I had the pleasure of hitting this joint with a very good friend of mine.  Neither of us had eaten there before and we thought it was high time we remedied that.  My friends, if you are in the same boat that we were in?  Go.  Tonight.  Seriously.

As soon as we stepped through the door, the cold unforgiving PG winter was forgotten.  The ambience of Nancy O’s is brilliant!  It is as chic as it is comforting and as unobtrusive as it is fascinating.  Balance.  Natural decor spliced with modern art and splashed with eclectic antiques – never a dull moment, I suspect.  My friend and I were greeted by our server, who is clearly quite taken with her workplace and was so helpful and so excited to chat about menu options!

I chose the Mediterranean burger with the spinach salad as a side and J had the vegetarian quesadilla, also with the spinach salad.  Oh.  My.  Word.  Phenomenal, folks.  Absolutely amazing.  The burger was intense!  A little messy to eat in the traditional way, but messy is more fun anyway!  It was topped with bruschetta and feta and served on herbed focaccia.  The quesadilla was no less amazing (J was lovely enough to let me try hers) – caramalized apples, spinach and brie made up this tasty little number.  Of course, we couldn’t stop there.  After indulging in our respective ambrosia, we chose to share a brownie dessert, topped with vanilla bean ice cream and whipped cream.  Beyond the obvious awesomeness of the dessert, we were informed that the brownie was not made in house, but was brought in from Sugardaddy’s Bakery – also a local business!  I (being the huge supporter of independent, local businesses that I am) was suitably impressed.

What’s more, Nancy O’s hosts a variety of local events from world class comedy shows to local world class musical acts alike!  The stage is just big enough and the setting is intimate.  It’s a fantastic place to go, have a drink, chat with a friend and support the local Arts scene!

So.  Nancy O’s?  A+.  Great service, amazing food, fun atmosphere and a handle on the importance of keeping it local.  I will go back, I recommend you do, too!

Don Henley – The Boys of Summer

UNT.

8 Responses to “Nancy O’s, A Prince George Gem.”

  1. chris February 9, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Thank you for the review I have been hearing great things about Nancy O’s maybe I can talk someone into going with me soon.
    Thanks 🙂

    • vyxen February 9, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      My pleasure, Chris! 🙂 I hope you can get there soon! 🙂

  2. Kendra February 9, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    This is great Kim!

    Also, I’m scheming something secret and fantastic, and will probably be talking to you about this post/something similar soonish. 🙂 (cause you rock and need to be a part of every awesome thing I do!)

    • vyxen February 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      I’ve been following piece of this scheming, K. I am curious, to say the very least – but I am not going to prod. As much as I WANT to prod, because curiosity is my Achilles Heel, I won’t! 🙂

      I look forward to this talk about something similar to this post. 😀

      Thanks K. 🙂

  3. Cindy February 9, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    You must try the sweet potato fries with garlic aioli! It’s really the garlic aioli that you can’t live without, but people will probably look at you strangely if you eat it straight up – although one of the servers said he eats it for breakfast!

    • vyxen February 19, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      That sounds awesome! That’s one of the things I love about Cimo – the rosemary fries with garlic aioli – my Heavens is it amazing. I will remember that for next time, Cindy! Thank you!

  4. Tracy February 18, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    lol, if you are going to start restaurant reviewing you *have* to carry a camera and include photos of the food. 😀

    • vyxen February 19, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Good idea! 🙂 To be honest, I hadn’t expected to be reviewing Nancy O’s, but I was so awe struck by the utter awesome. HOWEVER – restaurant reviewing would be fun . . . expect it, again, in the future! (As I said, we have some stellar local eateries – the love MUST be shared!)

Leave a Reply

