Will you walk into my parlour?

4 Feb

Oh it’s another K-Day!  You guessed it – this post is inspired by the amazing Kendra, who has said that many of the folks she follows are into posting “What’s in YOUR bag?!” posts about their purses, murses and backpacks (oh my!).  She has decided to play it a little differently (who can blame her?) and let us get to know her based on her collection of bookshelves.

I’m a follower, folks. . . .

That shelf above me there?  That’s my “writing” shelf in my “office.”  I keep my notebooks, how-to writing books and magazines and some lovely inspiration (the fantastic picture of the amazing woman in purple was a gift from ShadowsFire) on this shelf, right beside my computer desk.  My other shelf is on the other side of the desk:

As you can see, this is my pulp-fiction shelf!  I am ashamed of no piece of writing therein!  (I need a new shelf, I know.)

These ones are mephy’s (you can tell by the landscaping manuals, war history texts, Salvatore collection . . . and measuring tape – hey mephy?  You’re a nerd) and live in his office:

The last shelf of our collection is our Pretentious Shelf.  This one lives in our guest room and houses almost all of our non-textbook school books (have I mentioned that we each hold a BA in English?  Explains the book hoarding, doesn’t it?) – we like to show off for guests:

So.  There you have it.  My book shelves.  Have you learned anything new about me (other than that you should call A&E and let them know about my problem)?

Prism – Armageddon

UNT!

Still here?  Waiting for a little somethin’ extra?  You want to know what I keep in my handbag, dontcha?  Well, I can’t deny you that. . . .

Here’s the purse that needs replacing (I love it, but it’s seen better days.  Well that and Shhhh… has some stunning new products!):

And here’s what I keep in it!

The usual suspects: makeup and toiletries, (archaic) cellphone, wallet (complete with family of moths), pens, my handy-dandy notebook (Moleskine guys, it’s gotta be Moleskine – yup!  I’m that guy), reusable cloth bag . . . and a pocketknife, Leatherman (Juice XE6 – my husband is AWESOME) and flashlight!

PS. Before I forget, I joined 20SB (yes, because K did it first – imitation is the most sincere form of attempted identity theft).  Are you there?  You should be – especially if you’re 20something (I only have a year and a half left) and you blog!

10 Responses to “Will you walk into my parlour?”

  1. C February 4, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    You should’ve zoomed in on your bookshelf…how am I supposed to raid it if I dont know what’s there? (I totally saw Fahrenheit 451 though.)

    This was a fun blog!

    And I’m glad I said I checked out 20sb before you posted about it. I’m a creeper, not a follower. There’s a difference.

    • vyxen February 4, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      Come visit, Tool. You can raid live and in person!

      Stalker.

      • C February 4, 2011 at 11:42 am #

        Oh! I just noticed Tad Williams’ “The Dragonbone Chair”…I have that series!

  2. Tracy February 4, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    lol, look at that bag… it’s bulging, look at that assortment of items, it’s tiny: you are censoring Vyxen, what ELSE did you have in there? We are women, we know…. wadded tissues, candy wrappers, tampons… those items in that photo ain’t the collected works, they are the best of! Pft. 😉

    • vyxen February 4, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      Pft! It LOOKS like it’s bulging! But it looks like that because it’s been (sorry in advance) stretched before! I have put big ol’ “pocket” books in it – aaaaaaaaaaand it’s a big-ish purse. But yes, there are tampons in there, too, I just felt that was kind of an obvious purse content that didn’t need mentioning. 😀 As to the wadded tissues and candy wrappers, that was last week and I cleaned the purse out this week when I transferred some things back to it from my backpack! 😀

      • Tracy February 5, 2011 at 8:50 am #

        Ok I believe ya 😀 and the stretched thing made me giggle.

        I’m scared to know what is in my handbag, lol – I try not to put my hand in to deep because I think there is something nesting in there.

  3. Angela February 4, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Awesome!!! I did this too, both of the bookshelf and the bag. 😉 Gotta love books!!!

    • vyxen February 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      I am totally going to check that out! I am very curious as to the contents of the purses and bookshelves of others, now! 😀

  4. Whitney February 4, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I wish I had half as many books as you do!

    Whitney

    • vyxen February 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      Ugh. No you don’t. It’s a problem with working in the book business – I think I ended up paying my boss more than he paid me. >.< I have an addiction to buying books. 😉

Leave a Reply

