I am Nina’s smirking revenge.

25 Jan

A psychologist and a writer walk into a movie theatre. . . .

(Image © Fox Searchlight Pictures)

I was finally able to see Black Swan this evening.

Wow.

I will spare you my review.  (It would be littered with adjectives like: stunning, exhilarating, and breathtaking.)  I urge you to see it if you get the opportunity, though.  This is one of those films you shouldn’t miss and I suspect it’s also one of those films best seen on the big screen.

What I’ve come away from this experience with is an overwhelming need to create something beautiful.  I adore to be held captive by art, but more so I am delighted to be inspired by it.  To be pushed further by something I am in awe of.  It is not simply enough to produce something.  Anyone can write something.  I endeavour to bring to life something that inspires emotion.  The difference between Kraft Dinner and (Cimo’s) portobella tagliolini; both sate hunger, but the remunerations are a little different.

I can’t even begin to imagine how devastatingly bad ass it is to mastermind something so awesome.  To be able to evoke actual feeling.  That is art and that is just really, really cool.

In short: see the film.  Be amazed.  Be inspired.

Flyleaf – Fully Alive

UNT.

10 Responses to “I am Nina’s smirking revenge.”

  1. C January 25, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Good to know! I’ve been wanting to see it and wasn’t sure if it was all hype or not!

    PS – did you see the Jim Carrey spoof on SNL a couple weeks ago? You should. It’s hilarious.

    • vyxen January 25, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      I did not. I will try to find it on YouTube! 🙂

      But yes, you should see it. It’s a lovely, lovely film.

  2. Kendra January 25, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I completely agree! It should have won best picture at the Academy Awards!!!
    One of the best movies I’ve seen in a loooong time!

    • vyxen January 25, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      Oh. The Oscars haven’t hit, yet! 🙂 It’s nominated for a whole slew of them, though – some of the bigg’uns, too. 🙂 Should be interesting.

      And yah, I agree. One of the best. My friend and I were chatting about that after the show – Portmans’ movies, by and large, seem to be the ones we crave to own. I think she’s become my favourite contemporary female actor. 🙂

  3. Whitney February 3, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I can’t wait to see this movie. I am a music major, and I know the ballet backwards and forwards and the way that it is interpreted in this film just sounds amazing! Thanks for the review!

    Whitney

    • vyxen February 3, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Oh do! When you get the chance, see it – “amazing” doesn’t even begin to describe it! (I need to see it again, I think.)

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. cailen February 4, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    i’m so intrigued by that movie, though i’ve yet to see it. everyone says it’s amazing but that it’s “hard to watch” at times. definitely will have to check it out sometime.

    saw you on 20sb and thought i’d stop by and say “hi”!

    best,
    cailen

    http://www.cailenascher.blogspot.com

    • vyxen February 4, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      It is “hard to watch” at times, yes. I’m a big psych thriller and horror flick fan, though, so I *loved* those bits! 🙂

  5. ag. February 4, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I’m too afraid to see the movie (I’m a wimp!) but it does look like it would be incredible. Great post!

    • vyxen February 4, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      Fair enough! We can’t all love the thriller-type shows. 🙂

      Thanks so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

