I want my MTV.

16 Jan

What do you want to be remembered for?

(This is cheesy to the degree of epic.)

Love.

I want to be remembered for the love I gave and the love I received.  Happiness is the key to life and you can’t have happiness without first having love.  (Ergo, I also want to be remembered for being happy.)

Think about it.  Settling in with a good book makes you happy, right?  It wouldn’t be like that if you hated to read.  mephy is always happy after work, because he loves to work and he loves his job.  I’m happy to blog, or work on a story, because I love to write.

More than that, I want to be remembered for the love that exists in my relationships.  I love my husband.  He is my buddy, my confidante, my muse, my best editor, my biggest supporter, and he drives me up the wall.  I love my family – immediate, extended and in-law.  I love my friends – my chosen family.

When it all boils down, that’s really all that matters isn’t it?  Love and happiness.  (A sense of accomplishment and a lack of regrets is also helpful.)  Fame and fortune doesn’t mean a lick to flames or pearly gates.

I want to be remembered for being a loving person who was also quite capable of loving in return.

(I wouldn’t mind being remembered for having a great rack, though, either.)

What made you decide to start a blog? If you’ve blogged about this before, go back and read it. Is that still the reason? What’s changed?

I don’t remember.  Not properly, anyway.  I think it had something to do with boredom and too many non-fiction ideas.

It’s different now.  I still post out of boredom and I still have too many non-fiction ideas, but I am much more interested in evolution now.  I feel the blogging process has helped me to become a better writer (and will continue to).  I am honing my skills of observation and have learned, very quickly, that everything is a story.

I blog to learn.  When I blog about a community event it’s because something has struck me as interesting and I want to explore it.  If I post a book review it’s because there was something about a book that drew me in.  If I post something completely random, then I my mind was travelling a bizarre path and I needed to follow it through.  You don’t need to know the answers to all of these things, just as you don’t need to read my blog.  But if you do, then I also blog to share.  I don’t know much, but I know I love you I feel that what I do know is important.

Dire Straights – Money For Nothing

UNT.

4 Responses to “I want my MTV.”

  1. Rosa January 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I don’t think that’s cheesy…okay, maybe a little. lol Actually, I think its endearing.

    Think of all the inventions ever introduced by man and what purpose would they serve if not to help us achieve great happiness. What would all that happiness be without love? Sure, happiness is sublime. However, who do you share that with? Those you love, because it quantifies it all the more.

    I’m also very much in love with my husband. It’s the best thing in the world to be in love with someone so wholly complimentary. And what makes it all the more wonderful is that we both are very happy and celebrate that happiness together.

    Yes, I can do cheesy too. :p

    • vyxen January 18, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Thank you Miss Chick! Er. Mrs. Fox? Hah. Either way – hammer, meet nail-head.

      You do cheesy more eloquently than I. 🙂 Thanks, so much, for stopping by, Rosa! I am honoured.

      I love co-happiness, too. It’s so much fun to be giddy because of the joy of your partner (anyone you love, really, but your partner is just more fun ’cause it’s so awesome to see them so happy).

  2. missyjo January 19, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    On the subject of love, it’s wonderful to find someone who fits you so well. As someone who has been married for an extended period of time to someone who did not fit AT ALL, I can completely, emphatically say finding your fit is essential. Otherwise happiness isn’t possible. Contentment is. Happiness is not. I thank God every single day for bringing Dan into my life because he fits me. For all his really irritating quirks and faults, he understands me in a way nobody ever has. Better than I understand myself. And when I die, I want to be known as someone who loved their family with everything she had, was a steadfast friend who would do anything she could for anyone she loved. Someone reliable, honest, caring and kind. Remembered as a woman who raised 4 amazing kids who are every bit as loving, generous and kind. As well as someone who took care of her Grandmother well, as her Grandmother took care of her when she was a little girl. I’m all about family, you see. Including and especially those whom I’ve chosen, or have chosen me. ❤

  3. acne February 5, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Can I simply say what a relief to seek out someone who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know easy methods to convey an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant imagine youre not more fashionable since you positively have the gift.

Leave a Reply

