101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: Part 2.

13 Dec

(These are The Hottest Pumpkins in the World I was telling you about.  I am pleased.)

Here it is kids, part two of the 101 things you don’t really care to know!

  • I have been obsessively re-watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer for the past month.  I’d forgotten how phenomenal this show is.  The friend I borrowed the DVDs from is more obsessed than I will ever hope to be.  I am excited to have nerdy/intellectual Buffy chats with him.
  • I collect foxes.  (Not real ones, just small representations.)
  • I can’t not think about the boys when I hear Carry On My Wayward Son, or sing To Be With You when I stock the chocolate bars at work.
  • I am going back to school next semester.  This terrifies me for three reasons.  1) I have been out of school for five years.  2) I gave up one of my jobs (the one I’ve loved for almost four years) – mostly – to do this.  3) These will not be English courses, they will be commerce courses.  This means math.  There is a reason I took English so many years ago, and it’s not because I am a math genius.
  • I have a BA in English.
  • mephy also has a BA in English.  We met in a Shakespeare course.  My initial reaction was that he was an ass.  (As I say: turns out I was right.)
  • I love to bake.  I love to bake even more now that I have an oven that I get along with.  (You should have seen me the first day I made banana bread after we bought the house!  My old oven used to burn the outside and leave the insides gooshy.  This bread was perfect.  Guys, it could have been on the front cover of a food magazine!  That was a good day.)
  • If I could be certain that he (or she) was an actual person, I would pursue Dr. Pepper and bare my heart to him (er.  Her?).
  • I work in public service.  I have customer pet peeves (read these carefully folks and never, ever do them to me): 1) standing in front of my till, while I process your order, deep in conversation on your cell phone.  If your call is that important, and I doubt it is, move aside.  It’s rude and drives me directly into lose-my-temper-land.  2) Stupid questions.  “Do I get a discount if I pay with cash?” counts.  3)  Being called “sweetheart” by douchey men.
  • I have a pretty sizable crush on a local celebrity.  (mephy thinks I’m an idiot . . . and also blind.)  RRR!
  • Cunt is my favourite word.
  • I love filling out surveys.
  • I also love filling out forms.  I had fun applying for school because I was able to answer six pages of questions.
  • I am scared of water (bodies of it – I do enjoy baths, showers and dancing in the odd rainstorm).
  • I love creeks.  (Moberly Lake is my favourite Provincial Park campground not just because it is lovely and has a skookum lake, but because there is a creek there.  Sisty and I used to play at that creek for hours upon hours, following it up as far as we could and then following it right back down to where it met the lake.  Better times I have not had.)
  • I don’t want to have kids.
  • I can’t stand people who (when driving) leave their blinker on well after a turn.  I once followed a vehicle that was signalling a right turn for eight kilometres.  Eight.  Kilometres.  Turns out?  He went straight.
  • I like to say things like “shut the front door!” (er.  Refer to #23 and subsequent comments on the last 101 Things post) at work, at the till, in front of customers.
  • I still try so hard to use abbreviations like fm, ifo, veh, p/u, nwm, nwf, etc.  Don was right, it changes you.
  • I want to be visually artistic/creative.  I would love to be able to draw or paint, to take pictures that belonged in a frame rather than a my-summer-vacation album, or even to scrapbook!  (Honestly, I would really like to be the triple threat that K is!  Man, oh man that gal’s got skillz.)
  • I’m too sexy for your party.
  • I am joining a gym in the new year (totally that resolution – mostly)!  My friend, who goes to this gym, told me that she was going to teach me to be as cool as she is.  She will fail, there is no way I will be that cool.  But!  I am so thankful for her offer and so stoked to learn some nifty gym-ness!  (If all else fails this gym has an awesome indoor track, so I will be able to get a great deal of walking in.  I am psyched about this.)
  • I want to be involved in a writing group again.  This time I want to be involved in a writing group comprised of people I know and trust.  I may have a lead on this group . . . if we can find more members.  I want to be held accountable for my writing and have deadlines that are actually policed.  AND the feedback/criticism would be bitchin’.
  • I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL CHRISTMAS!!!1!!!  (I think like this all year ‘round.)
  • As soon as I got to the bar whenever I went to the bar (many moons ago) the DJ used to play “Sex Bomb” and then “Murder on the Dance Floor” without having to be asked.  Superstar!
6 Responses to “101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: Part 2.”

  1. Mom December 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Dad doesn’t get why I love Moberly so much. I’ll have to get him to read your blog so he understands! 🙂

    PS – Your favourite word is VERY bad…Momma’s going to wash your mouth out with soap, young lady!! 😉

    • vyxen December 15, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

      How does he not get it? Isn’t Moberly one of his favourites!? If not I call for a family meeting.

  2. C December 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I have no idea what those abbreviations stand for. Does this make me lame or non-geeky? Lol.

    • vyxen December 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

      Neither. That was dispatcher lingo. I’m just that cool.

      I’m *that* guy. But! At least I don’t go around using the phonetic alphabet in random situations. True story. (Not, of course, that you do, Cris – this comment just stems to a conversation I just had about the “cool club” and their bizarre use of the phonetic alphabet.)

      • C December 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

        Oooh, it didn’t even occur to me that it was from your dispatch days.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m not the world’s most masculine man but I know what I am « - February 22, 2011

    […] things about me” memes appearing on some of my favourite blogs (like a bird and Prolifically Barren) so I thought I’d sheep it up behind them. This will be a miniseries as I assume the act of […]

Leave a Reply

