101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: Part 1.

1 Oct

Okay.  I caved.

I told K that I wasn’t going to take part in this, but I did it anyway.  Like K, I am going to not post all 101 at once.  (Mostly this is because I haven’t written them all yet, and I like the idea of having three-ish blog posts for the list.  At least I know what I’ll post for two more!  This is progress.)

The things you did not want to know about your snarky neighbourhood vyxen:

  1. The only thing I really want to do is write.  That is my career aspiration.
  2. I don’t write.  Writing intimidates me.
  3. When mephy is away for an evening, or series of evenings, I sleep with a well-loved stuffed winged horse.
  4. I obsessively listen to 94X.  When I get ready in the morning I have it playing on three radios in my house (the bedroom, the living room and live streaming on the computer) and then in my car on my drive to work.
  5. I live for Christmas.  The food, the music, the decorations, the family closeness.  It is my favourite time of year and I still can’t sleep well on Christmas Eve (because I am teh uber excited).
  6. This year I am also stoked for Halloween.  I went out the other day and had a mini shopping spree at the Dollar Store for fun things to dress my house up – I also have plans to carve The Hottest Pumpkins in the World (I’ll let you know how that goes).
  7. I think that Chuck is God.
  8. I love my house.  More than loving my house, I love having a house.  A home.  A home that is mine.  It makes me happy to curl up on my chair and alternate between reading and watching the weather and neighbourhood.
  9. I dislike the telephone and try hard to avoid using it.  I don’t mind to talk to friends and family on it, but would much rather visit in person.
  10. I love caller ID.  It makes it very easy to maintain my avoidance of using the telephone.
  11. mephy is my partner.  I lucked out.  He is in love with me and sees me as his equal.  To add to that, he is very supportive of all of my crazy whims.
  12. I want a dog.  Desperately.
  13. The ‘80s was, without a doubt, the best decade.  Ever.  Musically brilliant, and you just can’t go wrong with highlighter pink spandex leggings, a too-large t-shirt (knotted at the side) depicting the NKOTB, a side ponytail of crimped hair and Jem-pink eye shadow.  Seriously, though, best music and best cartoons . .  . and most of my favourite people in the world were born then.
  14. Spiders are not my favourite of the world’s creatures.  Not at all.  In fact, quite the opposite.  Sadly, 98% of the spiders I’ve found in the house are behemoth demigods.
  15. I have a body-dump pit in my basement.
  16. Reading “literature” makes me feel better about myself.
  17. I am not a “book snob,” I just don’t like things that are, imo, poorly written.
  18. I love Supernatural.  Beyond my fangrrl tendencies, I really love the way the show’s written.  It’s witty, it’s satiric, and the portrayal of Judeo-Christian theology is not, at all, black and white.
  19. I am looking forward to the first snowfall of the season, so much, this year.
  20. I have never been as happy in my life, with my life, as I am now.
  21. It made my year when the woman at the BC Access Centre changed my hair colour from brown to auburn on my driver’s licence.
  22. I swear like a trucker.
  23. I also like to say really nerdy things like (but not limited to) “Mother Trucker!” and “that’s boss” and “double ewe tee eff!?”
  24. I am The Duff.
  25. I can’t stand people who tail-gate.  I wish terrible, terrible things upon their vehicles.  (Seriously?  Were you born in a barn?  Rear-end me when I slam on the breaks to piss you off, cockbag, and you get to pay to have my car fixed.  “I’m so sorry!  It’s just that I couldn’t hit that *sniffle* butterfly!”  Yah.  Bite me.)

Bon Jovi – Lie To Me

UNT.

11 Responses to “101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: Part 1.”

  1. M October 1, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    You know your wicked awesome, right? Your post made me LOL out loud. You need to write a book so i can piss myself laughing at all the crazy things that your characters will say and do..and you have no idea how much I want to own your books (signed of course.) and have it on my book case with all my well loved novels and comics!

    • vyxen October 2, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

      You’re too cute, M. I love you. So very, very much. 🙂

      Easy. IF this writing thing ever comes into fruition you will have a signed book. For free. If it does not, I will print something out for you and sign that. 😉

      Thank you for being wonderful. 🙂 ♥

  2. C October 2, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    #15: I think you left that one out on the tour.

    #23: You forgot: “shut the front door!” and “see you next tuesday”. Actually, that one’s my favourite goodbye, as pertains to you! Sadly, I don’t get to use it anymore. 😦

    #24: False.

    • vyxen October 2, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      I amended #23 for you. 😉

  3. Manca October 3, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Random fact: *some* people are willing to spend almost 3 hours on writing a list of 101 things about them. Also, *some* people are crazy.

    ^__^

  4. Unapologetically Mundane October 6, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    I just stumbled here, so forgive me if this is well-known by everyone else, but DO you read things that are poorly-written? ‘Cause I’ll tell you, I did enjoy reading those Twilight books. But I was reeeeeeeeeal happy to read Tinkers afterward.

    • vyxen October 7, 2010 at 7:38 am #

      I have read things that are poorly written. 🙂 I enjoyed the Twilight series when I read it, but I don’t think it’s particularly well written. The candy-floss story was fun, though. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  5. karma14 December 5, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    the 80’s had the best music? oh man…i wish i had i had all the thousands of dollars that i spent on cassettes. ever heard of new wave music? well that was a major genre back then…total dreck now. i do concede however that there were some pretty major groups back then who put out some amazing music.

    myself? i crave the 90’s. and i was born in the 60’s!

    • vyxen December 5, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

      Hehe. My opinion. There are so many people who disagree with me on the ’80s! 🙂

      The ’90s were awesome for the tuneage, too! (I’m a big fan of the ’90s At Noon on 94X.) Some great, great bands in that decade, for sure – my husband is a ’90s fan. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 101 Things (youdon’tcare) About Me: Part 2. « Prolifically Barren - December 13, 2010

    […] are The Hottest Pumpkins in the World I was telling you about.  I am […]

  2. I’m not the world’s most masculine man but I know what I am « - February 22, 2011

    […] of “101 things about me” memes appearing on some of my favourite blogs (like a bird and Prolifically Barren) so I thought I’d sheep it up behind them. This will be a miniseries as I assume the […]

Leave a Reply

