A GED and a give-em-hell attitude.

29 Sep

Goals.  I had sum.

Okay.  So I’ve done all right with that whole 4-Simple Goals party.  Not wonderful, but I haven’t climbed aboard the Fail Boat yet, either – I think this is important to note.  Let’s update!

1) I haven’t finished anything.  But!  I have started three distinct somethings with the plans to start another soon!  This is progress.  I know it seems a lot like too many unfinished projects, but when you haven’t had a project for the better part of a year (save for this wonderful bloggerino), it’s something to make you smile.

2) Success! Well.  One month done, so far.  It wasn’t so bad.  It’ll be rough to get into this saddle, but it’s also fun and challenges me to read (not that this is a problem I face, as a general rule, but I’m hoping this reading reaches new scopes.  I’d like to not tuck myself neatly into the Urban Fantasy and Young Adult corner strictly.  I want to branch out!).

3) No dice.  In my defence, I’ve been busy.  I just picked up a new job (remember this, it’ll come up in conversation) and have been working that as well as the Books & Co. job for the past few weeks.  I have a few evening shifts that make it difficult to do too much in the way of proper cooking, but I do hope to sit down and suss this Meal Planning thing out on Sunday!

4) Small progress.  I just got back from a great walk, this afternoon, and went out last week as well, but nothing more than that.  I can chalk that up to New Job, too, but only so far.  However!  The weather’s supposed to be summer-esque for the rest of the week, so Ima get out at least three more times before the close of the week.

In other newses:

I got a new job.  At my favourite university.  I work in the bookstore (it’s a stretch, I know).  With this job comes certain perks.

  • Union environment.  (Don’t argue.  It’s a perk, for me.)
  • Health benefits
  • Pension
  • (Most importantly) Education discount

So, now, I get to consider moving forward with my education while working.  This is classic Win-Win-Win.  (We all win.  Me too.)

And!  I had a reconnect with an old friend I hadn’t seen in years on Sunday, which was awesome.  And!  Today I went Halloween shopping for fun things with which to decorate my house.  I bought lots and spent only $20.  Dollar stores are bitchin’.

Life is gud.

Ugly Kid Joe – Cats In The Cradle

PS. Parkour on The Office. ++

PPS. Sam and Dean in a procedural cop show.

4 Responses to “A GED and a give-em-hell attitude.”

  1. C September 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    You know what? Ever since you wrote about wanting to do Meal Planning, I’ve been attempting it as well. It helps that I’m home, so I have more time to actually cook, but it really does make life a little easier when food is already thought of.

    Education discount?! For reals? Are you going back to school? For what?

    K, coffee date is officially overdue.

    • vyxen September 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      In the original 4-Simple Goals post I made I believe I linked to Michelle’s post on Kendra’s blog. She has a nifty schedule you can print out and work on at your leisure, there, for Meal Planning. 🙂

      (If you don’t want to click that far back: http://likeabirdblog.com/2010/08/guest-post-meal-planning-by-michele/)

      As for education. Yes. I don’t know if I am yet, though. I’ve just been thinking about it since that can of worms was opened up for me. 🙂

  2. C September 30, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Heh, I checked out her website too and was fascinated by her crafty baby ideas as well as the meal planning. I find now grocery shopping makes more sense when you buy things specifically for something instead of “well, I might use this…eventually…I think.” And then it gets thrown out because I’m awesome like that.

    • vyxen October 1, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      THAT is why I want to meal plan. I like the idea of the schedule and no-fuss cooking (because, in theory, I already know what I’m going to make), but I love that grocery shopping isn’t a free-for-all mess.

      A friend of mine has three-ish years of meal planning schedules in a binder, now. Three years. Crazy! I NEED to become that organized. It will make my life much, much easier.

Leave a Reply

