The 3-Day Novel Contest

7 Sep

(Image © Bill Watterson)

Or.  How The 3-Day Novel Contest (3DNC) kicked my ass.

I had a rough outline.  It was character driven.  This, I found, is great until your characters begin to deflate and decide that all they really need are two dimensions, not three.  Needless to say, I followed suit and deflated a bit myself.  Saturday was a bad day for my ego.

This experience, however, was invaluable.  Here is what I learned:

  • Divine intervention will not come to you.  No matter how many good deeds you have done in your life, no matter how much you pray for it, it will not come.  Writing is about work.  I was foolish and, though I did have that outline, did not “train” for this, opting instead to sit down and wait to be inspired by a Muse (á la Richard Madoc).
  • Reading #3DNC tweets (from people who seem to have written 20K words in a half hour) after you have discovered your inability to sit down and hammer out a 72-hour novel (or to even write 5 words in that same half hour) will prompt you to seek copious amounts of alcohol.
  • Things really are better in the morning.  While Saturday saw me consider flinging my notebook across the room, I accepted my failure on Sunday and sat down to work on something else instead.

I would have liked to have finished what I started, but I am happy to have been put in my place.  I did decide that since I had already allotted the weekend to writing I might as well sit down and write.  I dusted off an idea I had back in May and am pleased to admit that though my start is infinitesimal it is a start all the same!

I have to start cross training.  NaNoWriMo is coming up!

ELO – Mr. Blue Sky

UNT.

9 Responses to “The 3-Day Novel Contest”

  1. Jill September 7, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    sounds like a successful weekend all the same Kim:)

    • vyxen September 7, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      You know? I think so too, Jill. I am very happy about how it turned out. What I ended up working on was far more important to me than the 3DNC idea I had come up with anyway. 🙂

      Thank you. 🙂 ❤

  2. Kendra September 7, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    At least you learned a few things about yourself and your writing! I didn’t have the guts to try the 3 day novel contest but I think I’ve convinced Scott to do NaNoWriMo with me! It’ll help to have us both in the same place writing. Help us stay motivated, well me at least, I want to beat him lol 🙂

    • vyxen September 7, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

      I am SO in for NaNoWriMo this year, K! 🙂 I really have to come up with an idea for it! 🙂

  3. Cindy September 7, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    All it takes is a start! In grad class we did wild writings, dangerous writings, and some damn heavy-duty academic writing….some scotch drinking….some hair-tearing….some tears….much laughter…..much more encouragement and lived a writing life by the Nike swoosh – “JUST DO IT”

    Keep writing, girl. I’ll be in the B&C line to buy your first novel.

    • vyxen September 7, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

      Thank you, Cindy. 🙂 I have decided to be in it for the long haul. I need people like you (and Jill and Kendra) to keep me at it. I procrastinate VERY well and I shouldn’t. Not on this. 🙂

      I’ll sign it. 😉

  4. Denise September 7, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Writing is like sex. The longer it takes, the better it can be. If you’re not good at quickies…so what? Better to be satisfied than suffering performance stress. 🙂

    • vyxen September 9, 2010 at 7:25 am #

      lol! Apt Denise, very apt.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Honest Fox. « Prolifically Barren - March 17, 2011

    […] Remember when I rocked the failboat and tried my hand at the 3-Day Novel Contest?  Remember what I learned from that experience? Divine intervention will not come to you.  No […]

Leave a Reply

