J Day.

8 Aug

mephy and I just got home from what was supposed to have been my (official) ten-year high school reunion.  See, there was this whole big ‘ol shindig planned: Friday night drinking and tom foolery at a local pub (well, local to my old hometown), a dinner and dance at a hall on Saturday night, and then a family BBQ picnic in the park on Sunday afternoon.  Sounded pretty awesome to me, too.  Alas, some things are just not meant to be, and the whole kit ‘n’ caboodle was nixed – with the exception of the pub night, natch.

We still went.

I have amazing friends in my old hometown.  We see each other for weddings and births, usually, so this just seemed a brilliant excuse to wander out to Dodge and catch up.

We neglected to attend the pub night on Friday, favouring, instead, a more intimate gathering on Saturday night.  And folks, it was a blast!  Great food (potluck!), good drinks, a fabulous weather, a pretty boss bonfire (despite the BC wide burning ban – oops!), and phenomenal company.  We came, we ate, we chatted.  I couldn’t have asked for a better time.  I was able to see people I am blessed enough to see fairly regularly, and people I haven’t had the pleasure of seeing in years.

That aside, this weekend was to be a high school reunion.  This got me thinking.  From afar I understand reunions.  An opportunity to catch up with folks you haven’t seen in ten, twenty, thirty, or forty plus years.  An opportunity to rekindle old friendships.  Close up, I have a different opinion.

There is a darker side to the high school reunion.  It is a fantastic opportunity to pit yourself against a brilliant foe.  Someone who is your age, came from your town and was borne of (effectively) the same educational circumstances as you.  We stand up unmarried beside the married, without child beside families with three.six children, renters versus homeowners, doctors/lawyers/teachers pitted against the unemployed/burgerslingers/booksellers.

Maybe it really is just me.  I, quite consistently, look over other peoples’ fences to judge the hue of their lawn.  (It’s a vice.  I’m working on it.)

Really, I’m just glad it turned out the way it did.  I was able to see the people I wanted to see and avoid the people I didn’t.  I wasn’t judged, I was encouraged.  I wasn’t scoffed at for my choices, I was accepted.  I’m sure there would have been an excited positivity in the air at the Saturday night and Sunday afternoon events.  I’m sure it would have been lovely to see people I haven’t been able to see for ten years and would really like to.

To the ladies who organized the reunion?  It was a great attempt and a difficult situation.  Next time, though, if you don’t mind to maybe not mention your alternate plans for the Saturday night soirée to those of us not actually invited?  We’d appreciate it.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

To the grad class of ’00, the most irritating grad song ever: Vitamin C – Graduation

UNT.

(The image used for this post is of my gal and the daughter of a friend of mine.  They were twirling.  And giggling.  Lots.  It captures the feeling of last night.)

4 Responses to “J Day.”

  1. James Brown August 8, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Your lawn looks great to me.

    • vyxen August 9, 2010 at 7:13 am #

      . . . that’s what he said. . . ?

      Heh. Thanks James! 🙂

  2. Simone August 9, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    Yes!

    That is all.

  3. C August 9, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Y’know, a BBQ get-together sounds lovely. The summer isn’t over yet, so maybe some of my grad cohorts can still pull one off.

    And? That song IS the most annoying grad song ever. I probably heard it a dozen times (at least!) over our grad. Heh. Here’s to another 10 years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

