There is no cure for curiosity.

19 Jul

So.  Saturday was not a terribly busy day at work.  Well.  The afternoon wasn’t, anyway.

This lack of busy-ness, I think, is what spawned my (wonderful, fantastic and altogether phenomenal) coworker to wander off to tidy the “community board” (wherein people pin up their local events and/or anynumberofweirdnewage services) at the back of the store.  She returned with a brochure.  Not just any brochure, but one outlining something she was convinced that I should show great interest in.

[Drumroll]

The 3-Day Novel Contest.

[/Drumroll]

I scoffed, to be honest.  I haven’t produced anything more substantial than a blogged review of a local event in, oh, a year?  Two years, is a bit more apt, I think.  (Maybe.)  Anyway!  Long time, guys.  Long time.

But.

I’ve, since, spent some time thinking about it and I’ve decided that I really like the idea.  I’ve even been entertaining possible plots!  I realize that this is not an event to take lightly.  If I go forth in attempt to conquer this beastie I need to train.  Which, to be honest, I need to do anyway!  (And I have a project idea, so it’s doubly beneficial.)  I’d need to make necessary arrangements for success (read: quit work, take up laudanum consumption, and move to Siberia for a weekend).  I should probably consider introversion, too.

What do you think?  Have any of you cats completed this contest?  How was it?  Well worth the blood, sweat and tears?

At the very least, I have decided that Books & Co. needs to have a 3-Day Novel Contest display.  Because we have some awesome writing self-help books and it would be a wicked reason to showcase them!

Food for thought.

Savage Garden – To The Moon & Back

UNT.

10 Responses to “There is no cure for curiosity.”

  1. Mom July 19, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    I say it’s a wonderful idea…shoo…go write…create something delightful! xoxoxo 🙂

    • vyxen July 20, 2010 at 7:43 am #

      Oh hey thanks! I’m certainly going to try. 😉

  2. kendrajkantor July 20, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    I think it sounds like a great challenge! I don’t think I would do the actual registering on their site (costs $50!!) but I would do it as a personal challenge.
    Although I feel like I should practice with NaNoWriMo first lol
    (I’m also moving right around that weekend so that would be hell to do heh)

    Good luck if you do it Kim! Let me know how it goes!

    • vyxen July 20, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

      I think I should practice with NaNoWriMo first, too. >.< Buuuut I have enough people kicking my ass to do this that I am seriously considering it. I REALLY have to cross train, though! 🙂

      Thank you, K. 🙂 You'll be aware, I assure you. 😉

      • vyxen July 23, 2010 at 7:51 am #

        AND!? K. You should do it anyway. Cris just reminded me that a personal challenge is golden, too! Write with me for three days straight. You’ll finish your novel with your peskily awesome characters.

        Do eet! ❤

  3. C July 22, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I say do it and pay the registration fee, instead of just a personal challenge. I, personally, would be more likely to do it if I have to pay for it. Plus you have more accountability, since you have to show your work at the end of it.

    Plus! If you win you get an ISBN number!!

    • vyxen July 23, 2010 at 7:49 am #

      I think that’s why I’m going to actually pay for it. If I don’t finish (which is the only goal I have – well that and to have fun) it’s a waste of money! $50! That’s Cimo. Ooh. I think mephy should take me out for dinner at Cimo when I finish. Yes.

      I KNOW! Can you imagine!? And ISBN. That’s cool!

  4. vyxen July 23, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Challenge it as a personal goal, Miss! Don’t register, but write (with me) anyway!

    Thank you for the mention! xoxo

  5. tinyelk July 23, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    I promise to try to work hard on the novel during those 3 days if you promise to tweet and warn me when they’re coming up – dealio?

    Want to read what you come up with!!! Remember, I’m on your list. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life happens « Valkyrie's Vigil - July 23, 2010

    […] the 3-Day Novel Contest (no, I won’t be taking part, but I salute in awe to all those who do!) […]

Leave a Reply

