For whom the bells toll.

14 Jul

As you may or may not be aware, I am getting married.

mephy and I decided that it was in our best interests to make everyone in our families think that we are pregnant and announce that we would be exiting our life of sin in six weeks time (six weeks from the announcement, that is, which was a full three weeks ago).  Well, it sounded pretty shotgun to us.  Don’t worry!  I’m not carrying the demon seed that will bring the apocalypse upon us.  Promise!  I just kind of like that mephy guy and want to officially (and legally) make his life a miserable living Hell.

So.  I have had to plan a (veryveryvery small) wedding quickly.  The Queen of Procrastination had secured a tent (outside wedding.  You can’t be too prepared), procured a caterer, ordered wedding rings, bribed an officiant, and purchased a marriage licence within a week of the announcement.  Not too shabby.  Since then?  We have picked up the rings, paid two deposits on the tent, cajoled a (phenomenal) baker into concocting sweet treats, and I have found myself a lovely dress (the dress comes from a charming little shop called Storybook Wedding.  Alas, this shop does not have a website – yet – but it must be noted that it is wonderful and the gals I chatted with were amazing.  I highly recommend visiting – provided, of course, that you are in the area!) with a pair of shoes and a (*gasp*) veil to suit!  Suffice it to say, I am proud of us!

It’s been a nine year trek, kids, but we’re going to take the next fork offered us and see where that takes us.  Really?  I think it’s just that I get to show off a shiny new name.  I already share a lot of debt with him and we’ve been sinfully cohabiting for eons.

I want to say thank you.  Thank you to the amazing vendors I’ve listed, who’ve made things so much easier for me.  Thank you to my family who’ve offered help and support.  Thank you to my friends who’ve offered me the same help and support, and have let me vent my frustration (wedding planning is not something I’ll be making a career of).  And?  Thank you to my lovely mephistopheles for smartening up and asking me to marry him.  Smart man, imo.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Rednex – Cotton Eye Joe

UNT.

The stunning photo used in this post has been lovingly donated by my friends A & N, whose exquisite wedding I was privileged enough to be a part of almost exactly a year ago (now there is a woman who should go into wedding planning as a profession), and was shot by the pretty amazing team at Blue Olive Photography.  Many thanks to all contributing members!

9 Responses to “For whom the bells toll.”

  1. Bailey July 14, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Okay..so firstly…congrats!

    Secondly…I cant do math…so am i wrong when i ask…are you getting married this weekend?

    and thirdly…..Blue Olive Photography is amazing….AMAZING…no words…love them. Please tell me you got some kind of photographer to document this day and we will see pictures soon?

    Best wishes!!

    B

    • vyxen July 14, 2010 at 8:00 am #

      Oh dear Lord, no. End of the month. I couldn’t handle this weekend. That would frighten me. Greatly.

      lol! My almost-sis-in-law (Ray’s wife) is going to shoot for us. 🙂 I expect I’ll throw up a pic, or two, after the event. 🙂 And yes, Blue Olive is pretty astounding. 🙂 They do a great job and are very great (and super friendly) people! They were fun to “work” with. 🙂

      Thanks Bailey! Best wishes to you, and Andy, too! Coming up fast, chickie! 🙂

  2. A. Warren Johnson July 14, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Goodness! Here I thought the wedding was going to be epic, everyone dressed up (not going to lie, I imagined a themed wedding, moreover I was hoping it would be power rangers themed so that I could procure a green ranger costume).

    Well since there is no power rangers theme, and I am off in the far reaches of an undisclosed Albertan town, I hope that your shotgun goes well! Miss you both, and hopefully I can be back in at some point in the near future to share a bottle of wine with our inner circle.

    Anyway, best of luck to you both!

    -A. Warren Johnson

    PS- Mwa ha ha ha! Now you two have to write a book together! If for no other reason than to say that it is one of those little quirks that sparked from the wedlock. Cheers.

    • vyxen July 14, 2010 at 8:02 am #

      LOL! I love you. I really, really love you. 🙂

      I’m afraid it wouldn’t, ever, be Power Rangers, though, A. I look terrible in spandex (oh yes, I have experience. It is painful to think of without a BIG bottle of rum at my disposal). Perhaps TMNT? That could be fun. Or, hey, Scooby Doo! Jinkies!

      I can’t wait until you’re back home! We will, for sure, have to have a sit down and you can regale me with your Albertan Adventures! 🙂

      Thank you for the well wishes, hon. 🙂 Much love. Miss you!

      xoxo

  3. C July 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    You’re hilarious!

    “I just kind of like that mephy guy and want to officially (and legally) make his life a miserable living Hell.”

    Please tell me that’s part of your vows.

    • vyxen July 14, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

      I’ll try my best. For you.

  4. raekin July 14, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I agree with C on the vows!

    I am so mega excited for you! I wish I could be there to witness the magic, but I shall instead wait for the wonderful blog post that shall follow (that is both a request and an order 😉 )

    Congrats to my beautiful Vyx and her very lucky mephy 🙂

    • vyxen July 14, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Hah! Thanks Rae. Your wish is my command. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hell ain’t a bad place to be. « Prolifically Barren - August 2, 2010

    […] I’ve already given a few shout-outs and named some names, but I feel I should reiterate two special ones.  My friend Brandy created some amazing cupcakes for us.  Amazing.  Carrot and raisin with cream cheese icing.  Heavenly.  Absolutely heavenly – and they looked fantastic, too!  See? […]

Leave a Reply

