Kent: Something Sensible

9 Jun

Hello good people of the internets!  My name is Kent, your guest blogger for the day.  I’m also known by Spyder in some circles, and I’m tempted to make the claim that I’m the reason your usual blogger uses a Y instead of an I in Vyxen (and I bet she’s been tempted to go with Kym a few times, too), but I think that would need more research, or at least me asking her, which seems like a lot of work for blogging.  Right?  Bueller?

Anyway, as a guest blogger here in the land of Vyxens named Kim, I have the unenviable task of following a class act of the blogging arts (those two words together have to make artists everywhere shudder).  Some would say this is a challenge, trying to match the intelligence and wit of said Vyx/Kim.  I say that it’s no challenge!  Should I somehow get anywhere close to matching her intelligence and wit I think I’ll have accomplished far more than I could have hoped to when I set out on this journey mere minutes ago.

As I read that she was thinking about putting up some other people thoughts, it struck me that I don’t have enough thoughts to do this more than once like this.  I don’t have that much to say, not unless I were to talk about sports, music or things that piss me off (I’m looking at you, Sarah Palin, you idiot).  Now were I to venture off into one of those topics, say a rant that John Williams is an overrated composer, I might alienate some of the usual readers of the blog.  That’s not what I want, and in fact may be the exact opposite of what I want.  What good is a guest blogger if he loses readers for the main person?  That’s like my Pittsburgh Pirates trading away all their talented players away for a bunch of overpaid minor leaguers that have failed in other organizations, because nothing says we’re trying to compete like getting rid of winners for losers.  Obviously Kim’s hoping the same thing the Pirates front office is: maybe I’ll get lucky (dear god, Kim, don’t make the trades!).

In the rare instances I do have something positive to say, it’s generally about music that very few people listen to or movies that very few people watch.  Why?  I’m not really sure.  At some point because I’m the guy that likes things that are unpopular.  I’m a Texan that thinks we need more gun control and that abortion is a constitutional right, no matter what the conservative yahoos say.  Fortunately I live in Austin, because if I were just about anywhere else in the state that kind of talk would get me shot, which I think is technically aborting my life since it’s coming to an unnatural end.  Funny how that works.

Anyway, I like stuff that isn’t very popular.  Bands that use dissonance as another instrument?  Check.  Movies where very little happens and you’re left going “I don’t know if that was really good or really bad…”?  Check.  It just seems more fun to be out of step with the mainstream.  Honestly, I had no idea who Justin Bieber was until Funny Or Die because Bieber or Die on April Fool’s Day.  I’m pretty proud of that, actually.

Now, what you may be asking yourself here is Why is this D-bag sharing this information with us?  Well, let me tell you why.  D-bags like me make you appreciate non D-bags like Kim just that much more.  She has the good grace to take time out of her day and share her thoughts about various topics with us.  That’s a pretty big kindness she’s doing us, because it lets so many of us that will probably never actually meet her in person get to know her just that much more.  So bravo, I say, to Kim and those like her that blog their thoughts about this and that, because it’s something I could never do.  Not only do I not have enough thoughts for this type of thing on a regular basis, but I don’t care to let a bunch of people on the internet any further into my head than I have to.  That’s the difference between a Vyxen and a Spyder: one is a gracious sharer of her life, and the other is a cynical dork the she’s allowing to have a voice for a moment or two.

Whose stuff would you rather read, huh?

Kaki King – Falling Day

2 Responses to “Kent: Something Sensible”

  1. MJ June 9, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Love it!!! And, as usual, I agree with 50% of just about every statement up there. Lol. Except the ones about Kim, those I agree with 100%.

    And don’t make me sharpen a stick when it comes to John Williams. Really. He’s the greatest classical composer of our time. Tell me one other whose works are more globally recognized? *poke poke* 😉

    I’m with you on abortion and gun control, though don’t tell my family or my ex-husband. I’m too young to die!! Ha! I think gun control is a more touchy subject, however, because we have the right to self defense, but I think there needs to be more regulation. More registration. That having been said, if that were to happen, one of the most valuable heirlooms in our family would become illegal. Well, moreso than it already is. Long story and I don’t want to go into it. Anyway, it’s a tough subject and one I think they need to spend more time thinking about and more time LISTENING to US than debating and talking. But then, what in this country wouldn’t, couldn’t be solved by more listening and thinking? *sigh*

    love the blog post Kent. There’s a reason you’re on my friends list. And if you blogged, I’d subscribe and read as religiously as I do to Kim’s. I LIKE reading what you have to say. But I also understand what it takes to put yourself out there, and blogging isn’t for everyone. I love that you did it this once. I hope to hear more from you someday.

    as for you being Texan…well…we can’t all be perfect. =P

    *flees*

    ❤ ~ MJ

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bring it. « Prolifically Barren - January 1, 2011

    […] a secret.  But!  The board is fucking awesome and you should all join.  Now.  Go!) with a friend.  We were chatting about a “Keeping Ourselves Honest” thread as it pertains to […]

Leave a Reply

